BS, ACV, and Not Washing My Hair

On my 28th birthday, now a month past, I moved all of my shampoo bottles, conditioners, and other leave in hair products to the bottom of my cabinets. They were replaced by two spray bottles; the first filled with a baking soda and distilled water solution, the second with an apple cider vinegar and distilled water solution. I’d decided to go “no ‘poo” and see how it went.

First off, there are lots of reasons for not using shampoo. Mine was that the commissary had quit selling my no-sulfate shampoo and I wasn’t going to pay three times as much to get the same bottle from Amazon. Besides, what better way to kick off being 28 and a female blogger than restarting C25K and quitting washing my hair. That makes for a great combination in Southern Turkey during the summer, by the way.

I did my research, including several days of hardcore reading of every post ever on not washing your hair in the traditional since. I asked for advice from anyone willing to give it on twitter, I learned that hard water (which we have in droves here) made it harder, and I had my plan.

I washed my hair twice a week – on Fridays and Mondays – with my baking soda solution followed by the ACV rinse. The first day I did it, I loved it, my hair felt great and it was perfect. Sadly, in a month of washing this way, that was the only time I liked it. Every other time, immediately after getting out of the shower my hair felt thick and somewhat gummy. I tried increasing my BS, I tried decreasing it. I scrubbed harder, I let it sit in my hair while I did everything else. I rinsed with hot water. I rinsed with cold water. But at the end of the day, I had gummy hair that just wasn’t working.

I made it an entire month. I do feel that my hair was healthier and stronger then. I’m going to try to stick with only washing it every couple of days as best I can, though again with the Turkish heat and working out, that isn’t always possible. But at least I can say that I’ve tried it.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BS, ACV, and Not Washing My Hair

  1. Army Amy says:

    It was sometime last year when my hairstylist asked me how often I shampooed. She was aghast when I told her that I wash it everyday. I thought everyone did! Apparently it was common knowledge that every other or even less frequently was better. Oops. Since then, I just wash it every other day. At first, I thought it was weird or that my hair looked dirty, but I’m totally used to it now. Unless I workout or get particularly sweaty doing something else, I wash it every other day.

    I’ve never heard of using ACV or BS, but I’m totally intrigued by that idea! I might have to research that some for myself!

    • I’ve heard it works better if you have soft water. It certainly didn’t work with our hard water over here. All of my problems seem to stem from that and I’m just not up for gunky hair while tweaking it.

      I much prefer washing my hair daily. I swim or run every day of the work week and I just can’t not wash it after sweating.

  2. Kudos to you for trying! I can’t even bring myself to do that much. Like the commenter above says, I shampoo mine every day – I can’t stopppp.

    • Hahaha, yeah, I’m right back on the daily shampooing myself. The weekend is about the only time I don’t wash it. I do try to use things like coconut oil pre shower and non-sulfate shampoos to be gentler, but I work out daily and sweaty hair just isn’t my thing.

Leave a Reply

