My Own Author

The excuse has tumbled through my lips most of my life. Because X happened, I am now Y. I know all about comprehending your past and how it effects your life skills. I learned about while learning how to understand my fighting style and have applied it outward ever since.

The only problem is that I want to author my own life. I want to write my life story along a new path. I don’t want to star in the old story anymore. But, if I keep rereading the old story and letting it dictate the terms for my present – how do I write a new story?

It’s not that the old story always makes for a bad version of the present. But, it locks me in to typical responses. And until 16 May 2013 I was okay with that response. I was okay with saying that because of constant childhood friend rejection that I was just the type of person who couldn’t make friends. I was okay with being on the outside, or so I told myself. I mean, I always had been, so how do I rewrite that story?

But with the help of the amazing people I met in Vegas, I found out that the outside doesn’t have to be lonely. That I can acknowledge my past and still find the courage to reach out to others.

I know that I can’t change the already written part of my story, but I can change how it dictates my present and my future. Thanks to the sixty-some-odd strangers (ha, try tribe) in Vegas, I’ve found the courage not only to be a friend again, but to rewrite the rules that I use to interact with others.

This is what BiSC does. It gets inside the very fiber of your soul and helps you become the best version of you possible. It takes you to your darkest, most secret places and shows you the way back into the light.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Friends, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

