Crash Course

Way back when, on first meeting and starting to date B, I got a crash course on long distance dating. I went from happily single and ready to take on the world to doggedly committed to dating a man 1500 miles away in the space of a smile. Once we determined that three weeks of dating was not enough, we jumped into the deep end of loving from opposite ends of the country.

When we got married some ten days after getting engaged, I got a crash course on military life and the PCS. From our wedding date to heading to the East Coast to move to another country was a mere three and a half weeks. In that time I had to be processed into the system, receive medical clearance, get id cards, get an official passport, schedule a pack out date and have our belongings packed up and shipped off, all while handling my civilian stuff like cancelling credit cards and cell phones. No wonder I decided to save changing my name. It was good learning though, seeing as our PCS from Germany to Turkey only gave us two weeks with orders.

In hindsight, I think that most of life is a crash course. There’s very little out there, once away from the educational systems, that ease you in to life. Most of the time it’s an all or nothing deal. And there are some things you can’t learn without going through it yourself. Which is not at all what I set out to talk about today, but it’s what wanted to be said.

What life experience do  you feel that you went through the crash course version?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

