Homecoming

SAM_2782As I sit here, waiting for B to get on Skype for one last call, before heading to bed in Texas one last time, before driving away and saying one last set of goodbyes, all I can think is that this trip has been about ALL THE LESSONS. Sorry I’m not sorry for the yelling. The emphasis is needed.

From being with my family and learning things that I don’t want to perpetuate anymore to late night conversations with my Mom that have healed my heart. From learning that forgiving doesn’t always mean forgetting to knowing that not forgetting doesn’t mean not forgiving. From the steadfastness of a friend driving six or seven hours round trip to spend last than twenty-four with me to the kind words of a then-stranger-now-friend to steady my heart and help me fully embrace a weekend.

All of those, and more, deserve their own blog post. But tonight, ALL THE LESSONS rattle around in my head. Tonight, I remember that homecomings always bring lessons, if we’ll only heed them. Tonight, I’m at the crossroads of bidding farewell to this homecoming in order to return to my actual home. There’s a lesson there too, I’m sure.

Tomorrow brings many more “see you laters” and probably tears, sleeplessness and all the stress of flying. But tonight, for one last night, I sleep in a cozy bed, comforted by the knowledge that I am loved, all the world over. And that is enough.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

