The Darndest Things

One of the best parts about being a piano teacher is listening to all of the astoundingly cute things that my students say. I hated that, as a preschool teacher, I couldn’t share anything. But as a private music instructor, maintaining anonymity of course, I can share the humorous bits of of my days.

“Go ahead and put your hands up on the keys,” I encouraged, guiding her hands up to the black keys that she was about to play “Old Pig Donald” on. I sighed internally as she pulled her hands back to her lap and turned her cute pig-tailed head to stare at me.

“I’m starving.” She announced for the third time that lesson. What else did I expect when her mom had scheduled her make up lesson for when she’d have normally been eating lunch and napping at her preschool.

“I’m hungry too,” I told her, then I leaned in and faked eating her shoulder, “Om, nom, nom, nom, can I just eat you?”

“No!” She shrieks indignantly through her giggles. “You shouldn’t eat little girls.”

“What?” I ask, “You mean little girls aren’t meant to be eaten?” I am expecting the standard reply of no that this question always gets (what can I say, I have a lot of hungry preschool aged students). What I wasn’t expecting was her reply.

“Well, they do have meat in them.”

Ah the logic of an almost 5-year-old. It is impeccable in its timing to make a teacher want to laugh so hard that she’ll cry. We did finish the lesson though without any little girls being eaten or perishing of starvation.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

