7X13: February

Last month I started in on the first New Year’s-esque resolutions that I’ve made in several years. There are times when I would like to just throw in the towel already. I don’t know, something about it just grates on me. At the same time, I really want this year to be focused on living in the moment and experiencing every bit of life there to experience. I don’t want to aimlessly float through 2013 only to rue it’s passing coming December 31st.

My goals as of January and my feelings on how I did:

  • Learn how to run.  I ran four times in January. Four. That’s it. One of which was this morning, but I’m still getting out there. Instead of just throwing in the towel, I’m leashing the dog and going for my run. Instead of staying on week 1, I’m progressing. The first time I had to run for 1.5 minutes I was checking my watch every ten seconds past the 60 second mark. Today, I was actually surprised when they said I could walk again. Progress.
  • Start meal planning. I actually feel really good about this one. We still eat out too much, but we’re becoming more intentional with it. I am also cooking us more meals at home and for B to take to work.
  • Stop biting my nails. I made it 23 days in January without biting my nails. And then we watched a movie. At least I know I can go long stretches. Now to find something to do with my hands when we’re in a movie theater.
  • Take a vacation to the Mediterranean. This is still happening this year.
  • Find peace. This one, I actually feel really good about. I feel like I have found a calm place between the storms of life to take shelter. It’s not perfect, but I’m finding my center much better right now than I have in the past. I hope to only continue to grow this grounding of mine.
  • Try weight lifting regularly. Another good one for me. I’ve managed to increase my weights and shake up my routine. I’m back to feeling the ache after a good session and it makes me smile. Right before I wince when the dog pulls too hard on the leash that is.
  • Be more out there. This is the one that I want to most applaud myself for accomplishing. From commenting on blogs (and hitting the post button on those comments) to sending invitations to friends here, I’ve been more out there this month. It’s been an amazing experience for me.

I feel really good about my goals so far. Especially since I have the rest of the year to keep getting better. But, without further ado, here are my goals modified for February.

  • Learn how to run. I’m keeping this one the same. It’s the goal that I most want to achieve this year fitness wise. I’d like to actually start getting in the three runs a week, but after January, I’ll settle for running 6-8 times.
  • Start playing piano for fun again. While I will keep meal planning going, I feel good about our progress and our willingness to learn how to modify it to fit our lives. I have let many of my old hobbies fall by the wayside and bringing back my piano playing is at the top of my list for things I want to do this year.
  • Stop biting my nails. Take two. Let’s see if I can go the whole month without so much as a nibble. Sorry, I know it’s gross. But, I’d like to celebrate my 28th birthday without facing crappy nails.
  • Take a vacation to Cypress. Our cruise is still on, though in the no-mans-land of being rescheduled right now. It will happen. Since it’s probably getting pushed back a month, B and I are looking for somewhere to go between March and May. Right now we want to go visit Cypress. It’s nearby, easy (and cheap) to get to, and would give us a respite from this place.
  • Find joy. I read today an old comment from a friend about my joyful spirit. Sometimes I feel like that must have been a different incarnation of me. I have definitely let the doldrums of everyday life steal my joy. I’d like to find it and put it back where it belongs in my heart.
  • Try four new recipes. That’s only one a week. And new recipes definitely help with the eating at home/meal planning thing.
  • Be more out there. I’m keeping this one. I need the reminder that I have to reach out, push, and prod. But that it’s worth it. February sees us switching to midshift (2100-0700) only, he’ll be working that a few days a week and working days the others. So, I’m going to need something to fill up my lonely mornings while he is sleeping and my lonely nights while he is working. I want to use this time to continue to build the friendships I have found.

Did you make New Year’s Resolutions? If so, are you keeping track of how you’re doing? What’s one thing you’d like to accomplish in February?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in 7x13 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 7X13: February

  1. Army Amy says:

    Sounds like you are doing great on your goals! If you run 8 times in February, that’s twice a week – totally doable! I’m a nail biter, too. For the most part I don’t bite any more, but I still somehow end up with my fingers in my mouth. (What am I? a toddler?) I stopped biting when I started painting my nails more. If that doesn’t seem like a solution for you, maybe think about what else you can do the break the habit. It’ll help to have a plan.

    Your year is off to a great start!*

    • Thanks so much. My goal is definitely twice a week, but I feel like saying 8 times gives me a little leeway to squeeze more runs into a given week if necessary.

      I don’t paint my nails just because all of the piano playing I do chips them constantly when I do. Which is part of where I struggle with having a solution.

  2. Megan says:

    I found your blog from ArmyAmy (I think I am sadly stalking her hehe) I am using an app called couch to 10K. I used the couch to 5K app first and it was great. Hope it helps!

    • I am such a blog stalker. I am trying my hardest to get out there and actually comment instead of just lurking creepily in the back.

      I am using a couch to 5k app, it makes it so much easier than having to constantly look at my phone. Especially since I run with my dog and he’s a bit of a handful.

      Thanks for the encouragement. I am determined to succeed this year.

Leave a Reply

