Weekly Blessings

on top of Snake Castle

on top of Snake Castle

Y’all, I’m not going to lie. This has been a rough week. I haven’t been posting because I haven’t had the motivation to do so. Not to mention that I really don’t like just getting on here to complain. So, I’m going to take a moment to pause and acknowledge that the last week or so has sucked. Majorly.

And, done now. I think that when life sucks the most is when I most need to focus on the little things that make life good. Gratitude is something that I truly struggle with in the daily rush of life. Especially when things get harder. It is nice to take some time to focus on what is good in life.

Monday (1/21): Having a friend of ours and her three kids over for dinner. I count myself blessed to have some core friends in our military family. And I count myself doubly blessed to be able to have them over for dinner while Dad is on the other side of the world.

Tuesday: Cinnamon raisin bread. I’m still not sick of it. It is so tasty.

Wednesday: Don’t laugh, but it was the right person going home on Top Chef. I don’t normally get that involved in the eliminations, but this person so needed to go home. And it made my day that they did.

Thursday: Waking up to B bringing me Starbucks in between his two morning meetings. It was just the perfect little thing. Thursday was also his night to have planned a date night and he took me to a sushi dinner and then we drank grown up root beer floats and watched From Russia with Love.

Friday: Spending four hours with a still-developing friend while running errands and eating lunch. It is beyond nice to have a break from the long lonely hours at home.

Saturday: Successfully using a squatty potty in Turkey without a) falling over b) touching anything inside the restroom besides the door lock, and c) getting pee on myself. It was a good pit stop on our way back up to the James Bond Bridge to do more hiking with friends.

Sunday: Painting. I’ve always wanted to be the artist person, but I’ve also always claimed that I’m just not talented enough for it. I think I may have finally found something I’m decent enough at to make myself happy. I spent a couple of hours painting this afternoon and on top of having a finished (almost) product that I’m proud of, I just enjoyed the zenness of doing it.

What are you grateful for this week? Do you find it easy or hard to remember to be thankful?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Blessings

  1. Army Amy says:

    More talk of cinnamon raisin bread! I drool at the thought of it! From Russia With Love is my favorite Bond Movie. My hubby is a big Bond fan, so I’ve seen my fair share. And squatty potty? (A) I’m glad I don’t have to use those. (B) I’m glad you managed to do it successfully! That’s the kind of thing that would majorly stress me out.

    I love that you acknowledged the suckitude and made the effort to focus on the positive. The little things add up! I’m grateful that my husband was able to come home for the weekend. It ended up being only 30 hours, but that’s better than nothing, right?*

    • Cinnamon raisin bread is all consuming in my life right now. I’ve eaten it for breakfast every day for almost a week now.

      The squatty potties are not fun. But they are necessary to master if one want to travel beyond the big touristy cities in Turkey.

      30 hours is much better than nothing. I’m glad he was able to come home.

Leave a Reply

