17th Again: The First

Our anniversary is the 17th of August, and during the whole first year we were married I cooked an extra special dinner on the 17th of each month. It was just something small for me to do to make that year special. We’d missed out on a lot of the hype and excitement regarding our marriage, since we milloped (my term for military elopement) a mere ten days after getting engaged. Today is our 29 month anniversary, but that’s not really my focus.

See, in exactly seven months we will be celebrating three years of marriage, by getting on a Mediterranean cruise with B’s family. That’s a week on a boat where I’ll primarily be running around in a bikini. Around my super fitness oriented in-laws. I’ve already started planning my shopping for the cruise, including buying a cute, clearance swimsuit. So, for the next 7 months, on the 17th I plan on trying on said swimsuit (did so this morning), taking my measurements, and making some goals for the following month.

Measurements:

Weight: 151.5

Natural Waist: 27

Belly Button: 30

Top of Hipbone: 35

Widest point of hips: 39

My goals to stick to between now and 17 February are:

1. No more than one meal a week that has fried items.

Y’all, that’s going to be hard. I’m a Texan. I love my french fries, chicken fingers, and all manner of things fried. Hence, I’m letting myself have it once a week.

2. No coke at home between now and 17 February.

No excuses. I can drink one if we eat out, but only because we have to pay for bottled water out anyway. And I don’t trust Turkish tap water. This will really only be hard when we’re drinking at home, but vodka mixes just as well with oj/cranberry juice as soda.

3. Complete this with today being day 1:

why yes, I am a glutton for punishment

why yes, I am a glutton for punishment

And that’s it. Three easier said than done goals for between now and 17 February. I’ll admit that the idea of spending a week on a boat in a bikini with my in-laws is great motivation to get super serious about my fitness. Here goes nothing.

Do you use travel as a fitness motivator?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Operation Bikini Body and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 17th Again: The First

  1. Meg says:

    I’ve got a bachelorette weekend in Palm Springs I plan on spending most of in a bikini. It’s kinda far away, but that’s a big motivator for me right now!

    • Entire weekends/weeks in bikinis are such good motivators. I think the only possible take away from this is that I must always have a weekend or week on plan where I can just spend the entire time in a bikini.

Leave a Reply

