Still Just Having Fun

I still remember my first piano student. I was a student teacher at Baylor’s Piano Preparatory Program. We did group and private lessons and everything was supposed to be monitored by a professor. I remember that I raised a riot because they’d allowed two Sophomores into a Junior/Senior class that was already overcrowded. Some of the student teachers were having to share students, but somehow both of the Sophomores were to get their own private student. Those of us who were Pedagogy majors conferred and decided that this was highly unfair, because the younger student teachers would have an extra year to get in student teaching. So I was the one nominated to approach our Professor and explain. She redistributed the students, but never forgave me for having the gall to question her on the issue.

My student was the oldest of the kids enrolled in the program. As such, most of the material was below her cognitive and developmental level. My first lesson as a teacher was this: if the students aren’t having fun than they probably won’t learn anything. If they don’t enjoy what they’re doing, they won’t put in the effort, and they’ll dislike it even more. If they are chronically unhappy, they will probably quit taking, resulting in lost revenue. This translated into me learning quickly how to make things fun.

That was over seven years ago. To this day, I tell every student that my main goal is for them to have fun. I ask them to tell me if things are boring, or they don’t like something. I can’t solve a problem if I don’t know that it’s there. I try to mix things up in the lessons, from playing songs to playing games. I also try to keep a close read on if the student is having a good time or not.

As a result, most of my “work day” ends up me being goofy and having fun with my students. We sing, we dance, we hop around the room, and I hopefully teach them that music is fun. I don’t care if a student I teach ever ends up being the next “big thing” in piano. I do care that each child that I cross paths with leaves their time with me appreciating and loving music.

Days that I don’t teach drag by. I sit around and contemplate applying to a boring 9-5 job. The days that I do teach, remind me why I chose this career path in the first place. Because having this much fun and getting paid to do so? I’ve hit the jack pot. So yeah, I don’t earn as much as I did in the 9-5 and I don’t earn as much as I did teaching back in the US. But for me, the trade off is worth it. I’m just having fun and getting paid to do it.

~The Countess~

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still Just Having Fun

  1. Army Amy says:

    Sounds like you are doing the work you are meant to do! It would always make my heart sing when my students would ask, “Are we going to do this again tomorrow?” I have missed teaching this year, but I think it’s been good for me to step away for a little bit. All the BS of testing, and ridiculous expectations of my principal were getting to me. I’m looking forward to getting back to it, especially so after reading this post!*

Leave a Reply

