A New Plan

Back in November, after B and I paid off the last of our loans, leaving us debt free, we had a brief discussion about what was next. Thanks to living in government issued housing our only monthly bill is our internet service. So we knew that we wanted to start putting money into savings.

But, Black Friday was looming and we choose to allot a thousand dollars every year to have for shopping. That’s pretty much the only time we buy electronics, movies, and video games. Throw in me finding some fabulous clothes on fabulous deals and we had this last year. Then, Christmas was looming, my laptop broke, and the next thing you know it’s the middle of January and we haven’t added a single penny to savings. The latest reason was that we’re waiting to pay for B’s school, since we’re doing that out of pocket. Translation, we haven’t been making the effort to save anything. We’ve been like kids in a candy store buying whatever, whenever we want to buy it.

I knew that we needed a new plan. Something to help us get back into the habit of not squandering our money. Something that would start bolstering our savings without making us feel like we had to count every penny. I also wanted something that would help me feel like I was actually contributing to our income. That’s something I’ve struggled with since quitting my job back in October. While I’m a thousand times happier than I was working there, it’s still a bummer not to get that paycheck every month. My students now pay me monthly or bi-weekly, but it’s a bunch of small checks that seem to just get lost in our checking account (yay for USAA deposit at home).

Which is when it hit me. The perfect, most brilliant plan. All of the money I earn is now being deposited straight to our savings account. We don’t need my income, but now I get to feel like I’m actually contributing to our future. Since we don’t put anything else in to savings and we don’t pull things out, the amount I put in won’t get lost like it did in our checking account. So I get the morale boost of seeing the money every time I check our accounts. And of course, we’re actually back to saving money. It’s a win-win.

Do you ever try tricking yourself into saving money?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Plan

  1. Army Amy says:

    I like that idea. Maybe after we move and I’m (hopefully) working again, I’ll do that.

    We were able to save a lot (like more than I’ve ever saved ever) during my husband’s deployment. It helped that I’m ridiculously frugal, rarely ate out, his expenses were low, and we were getting extra cash flow. But since then, we’ve been spendy spendy spendy because we knew we had all that money and because we were making up for lost time.

    We are working on saving more now. Our biggest thing is just not spending as much. It’s a little easier that there aren’t many places to eat out or go shopping. I already know it’s going to be harder when we are Stateside. Hopefully having extra cash flow will help.*

Leave a Reply

