Weekly Blessings

SAM_2291

One of my goals for 2013 is to find peace within myself. I often find myself overwhelmed and drowning in the chaos of our lives here. This is not an easy assignment; nor is it an easy place to live. But there is still good here. There is still beauty. I want to try and record the little things throughout each week that I am thankful for. There really won’t be a format to this so that I can tailor it to suit my mood each time.

Sunday (6 Jan) – B and I got to have an “at-home” date night. I cooked him a fancy meal, we drank cocktails, and we just spent time together. It was perfect.

Monday – We had lunch with friends. In military bases, especially at overseas stations, your friends become your family. That is definitely true of the people we’ve met here.

Tuesday – I had to say goodbye to a student today. His family moves next month and this was his last lesson. Even though I’ve only taught him for two short months, he’s become one of my favorite students. He always has an outlandish story to tell me and he seems so wise for his 9 years. I hope that I can keep alive the sense of courage that he left with me.

Wednesday – We completed our first week of meal planning. It was a rousing success. Wate ate every meal as planned and proved to ourselves that we could successfully eat at home.

Thursday – On the heels of our first week of successfully meal planning, I am grateful for a husband who allows me to not want to cook sometimes. He really is too good to me.

Friday – I am so thankful for technology. Blogs. Email. Facebook. Twitter. Skype. They all work to help us stay connected with family back home. I cannot imagine doing this, living on the opposite side of the world from everyone, with just snail mail to stay in contact. We truly are blessed in our ability to stay in contact.

Saturday – I received an unexpected message from a cousin. I feel a high sense of disconnect from them all. Because I didn’t do things the “right” way when I married B, I’ve felt ostracized. It doesn’t help that the one time he was able to accompany back to my home that none of them made the time to come visit. And we’ve been overseas our entire marriage. The message reminded me that it’s okay to forgive and have contact.

What small blessing did you experience last week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Blessings

  1. Army Amy says:

    I love this idea! I’m pretty sure I’m going to start a gratitude journal. We could always use a little more positivity in our lives, right? I know that I can.

    Yesterday I had a really fantastic nap and I was still able to get to sleep in the evening. That’s a huge thing to be grateful for in my book! Oh, and my husband got to Skype his brother. Sadly, our families aren’t big in to skyping and I think the time difference doesn’t help, so this was a rare treat and I know it made both of them so happy. Two things to be thankful for!*

Leave a Reply

