Marital Conversations: Waiting Around

Inspired by the many people around the web who share tidbits of conversations with their spouse due to the hilarity that arises from it. I know we all have these conversations with people every day. The ones that make you laugh and go wait, did that really happen.

The setting: B had to go in this morning at 0330 to evaluate a training exercise. Then he had to go back in at 0800 for a training meeting. He told me this meeting would take two hours max, so I wave him off with the car and wait for him to come home, anticipating an early lunch. He doesn’t get home until after 1200. Long after we’ve finally eaten lunch and he’s settling in to play video games with a buddy his cell phone  goes off with a text that I sent him hours before.

Him: Is everything okay? Did you send that?

Her: Yeah, I was worried something had gone wrong since your training meeting took so long.

Him: What? What do you mean?

Her: You know, the meeting that started at 0800 and was supposed to be done two hours later, yet you didn’t get home until four hours after the start time? So I was waiting to do things like walk the dog, go to the gym, eat lunch, because you were supposed to be home.

Him: Oh, I forgot I told you how long it would take. I had other work I needed to do so I just stayed there to finish it. I really didn’t have a choice, it needed to be done.

Her: But you do still have access to a phone, right?

Him: *Silence* Oh, I should have called.

Her: Bingo.

Him: I’d say that I’ll be sure to call next time; but the truth is that I’ll probably forget.

At least he’s honest. The funny part is that I had already mentioned to a mutual friend (who was waiting to go to lunch with us) that I was half suspected he was doing other things at work and had just forgotten he’d told me he’d be home by 1000. We were joking about it, because I am not a remotely patient person. When God was giving out virtues he didn’t give me any patience and now I don’t have the time to sit around and figure it out myself. But, I didn’t want to call up there looking for him, because I always feel bad asking for him and coming across as the nagging wife who constantly has to know where her husband is.

This is one of those adorable quirks of my husband’s that I can either choose to be irritated by or entertained by. I choose entertained. It’d be way too easy to fight every time he forgets to call home when he’s going to stay long, or volunteers to help someone with something keeping him late, or even when he gets last minute orders that he has to finish right then. He’s gotten better in the 2.5 years we’ve been married, but there are still days like today where I’m wondering if something has happened (it does a lot around here) and in reality my dearly beloved has just forgotten that he can use a phone to call me and tell me he’ll be late. Laughing about it and being able to joke with him about it has helped us both to keep our cool in a job where the stress levels are often through the roof.

Do you have a family member/life partner/roommate that has a quirk that you choose to accept and laugh about rather than have it cause problems?

~The Countess~

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Marital Conversations: Waiting Around

  1. Army Amy says:

    “I choose to be entertained.” That right there might be the secret to a happy marriage. That’s how I feel about the way my husband’s clothes end up all over the entire house. There is not a room without his clothes in them (bathrooms and basement included). I joke that he’s like a snake leaving his skin behind. There was a time when it bugged me, but now I just laugh and step over his jeans. Ha!*

    • I think you may be right about the secret to a happy marriage.

      My husband does the clothes thing too. So I bought him a wood valet (The Turks call it a “lazy worker”) to hang his uniform on. It’s much nicer to have it there than on my chairs/couch where the dog sheds all over it.

  2. This reminds me of my husband… Even after email, texting, even a Facebook message, he still can’t remember to call me if he’s going to be late. I miss those days. Halfway home.

    • Best wishes to your husband and his deployment. We have yet to go through one and I really do admire everyone who stays strong during them. Y’all are way more kick ass than I could ever be.

      • When you have no choice but to push forward… You find a way to make it work. I’ve taken up designing jewelry and DIY style projects. If my husband doesn’t come home soon, I swear all our furniture is going to be made of toilet paper rolls and paper clips LOL You do what you have to because you love him. In the end, that’s all you’ve got. That and a set of orders.

  3. Stereo says:

    I love reading about the bits and pieces that make up married life. I think the best thing my parents have told about the key to a successful marriage is that you must pick your battles and you have echoed that here. Should I ever enter the world of dating again, these are things that I must remember to keep in mind.

Leave a Reply

