At This Moment: Writ Upon My Soul

This is inspired by my dear friend Stereo. She is starting a new 50 Things series. I want to use this to start an “at this moment” series. Because, the 50 books I pick right now might not be the same ones I would pick next year, 5 years from now, or even tomorrow. It’s just a reflection of who I am at this moment.

I am going to start this off by saying that I fully plan on cheating on making this list. Unless I can’t list enough books, but that has never been my problem. I love reading. It is a part of the very core of who I am. So, my cheating will come that I will probably list series as one entry. All of these books are ones that I think of as those that have left an imprint upon my soul. The hows and whys for each could probably make each a blog post.

1. Heroes Die – Matthew Woodring Stover – For being my tangible proof of B after he left it with me  three weeks in to dating as his lure to get me to visit him six weeks later.

2. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

3. Hyperion – Dan Simmons

4. The Black Company – Gene Wolfe

5. The Book of Three – Lloyd Alexander

6. Harry Potter – J.K. Rowling

7. The Belgariad – David Eddings

8. The Song of the Lioness Quartet – Tamora Pierce

9. Redwall – Brian Jacques

10. And Then There Were None – Agatha Christie

11. Wildfires at Midnight – Mary Stewart

12. The Hobbit – J.R.R. Tolkien

13. Anne of Green Gables – L.M. Montgomery

14. Shogun – James Clavell

15. Dragon Flight – Anne McCaffery

16. The King Raven Trilogy – Stephen Lawhead

17. The Lies of Locke Lamora – Scott Lynch

18. Forever War – Joe Haldeman

19. Starship Troopers – Robert Heinlein

20. What Dreams May Come – Richard Matheson

21. Wheel of Time – Robert Jordan

22. The Fairy Godmother – Mercedes Lackey

23. Devil in the White City – Erik Larson

24. To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee

25. Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell

26. Sir Apropos of Nothing – Peter David

27. Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

28. Gateway – Frederick Pohl

29. An Old Fashioned Girl – Louisa May Alcott

30. Cosmic Trilogy – C.S. Lewis

31. The Darkness That Comes Before – R. Scott Bakker

32. Chronicles of the Deryni – Katherine Kurtz

33. Sevenwaters Trilogy – Juliet Marillier

34. Forever Free – Joe Haldeman

35. The Kingkiller Chronicles – Patrick Rothfuss

36. Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card

37. People of Pineapple Place – Anne Lindbergh

38. The Blue Sword – Robin McKinley

39. The Riddle Master of Hed – Patricia McKillip

40. Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden

41. Princess Bride – William Goldman

42. The Never Ending Story – Michael Ende

43. Stardust – Neil Gaiman

44. The Naming – Allison Croggon

45. A Song of Ice and Fire – George R.R. Martin

46. The Golden Compass – Phillip Pullman

47. The Old Kingdom – Garth Nix

48. The Pendragon Adventure – D.J. MacHale

49. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas

50. Old Man’s War – John Scalzi

I am hitting publish on this without thinking about it again. I’ve left my note on just one. Because it is a book that I would have never read on my own. It is a book that I started and put down for being to dark and then started again.

As I said before, every one of these books has left an indelible mark upon my soul. But, then, isn’t that true of most books?

What book(s) have impacted you most?

~The Countess~

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Entertainment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to At This Moment: Writ Upon My Soul

  1. Army Amy says:

    What a great question! I first read The Giver when I was in 6th grade, and it blew my mind! I felt like I grew up a little reading that book and I never quite looked at the world the same. Of Mice & Men is another. I remember reading the final pages sitting on my bed weeping. It made me question, which is a fantastic quality of a book.*

    • I loved The Giver. I think it was the first book I’ve ever read that had an ambiguous ending. I’ve never read Of Mice & Men, but I might have to give it a go.

      I agree that books that make me question and think often go down as my favorites. I like to be challenged by them.

  2. Stereo says:

    *Weeps* I forgot all about Anne of Green Gables and feel like I must go back and completely alter my list so that I can fit it in. I am so glad you did this, my friend and have added more than a few titles to my list.

    • Anne contained all that was awkward and beautiful about childhood. Growing up with her gave me comfort to believe in bosom friends. She taught me that it was okay to seek education and a career over family and that it was okay to set that aside for family.

      You’ll have to let me know what you read from my list and what you think of the books. :)

Leave a Reply

