A Deep Breath

Yesterday was not a good day around here. My beautiful Air Force, that I love and respect so much for what it stands for, broke my heart yesterday. It was like having a first fight. The relationship is going beautifully, it’s all butterflies and roses. Then, out of nowhere comes the first fight. Only, it was a little fight. It was a fight that showed that core values are not shared and that finding a compromise might not be possible. I’m still mourning the loss of those values that I thought my Air Force upheld.

But today we persevere. We hold our heads high and we take a deep breath. Regardless of the veil being ripped from my face so that I could see the truth about B’s career field, he still has a commitment to finish. I will stand proudly by his side and know even more what an anomaly of a man I married.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Deep Breath

  1. Army Amy says:

    Oh, no! I don’t know what going on, but I want to send you some virtual hugs! I hope that, like your previous post said, you and your husband can stand together and weather the storm. Hang in there!*

    • It comes down to the dirty politics that are played by upper ranking military members. And my husband coming out on the wrong side of it. It isn’t anything that will have a major impact unless you count solidifying our desire to exit the military as soon as our commitment term is up. Thanks for the hugs. :)

  2. Most military spouses have a love/hate relationship with their beaus career. Especially when their man finds himself on the short-end of the stick! It’s funny we think our big, tough men need protection :) Just remember you’ll be fine in the long run, you have each other for support and if it weren’t for the airforce you never would’ve fallen in love with how he looks in uniform!! Big hugs!

  3. Mary says:

    Very sorry to hear you’re having a rough time right now :\ Dirty workplace politics apparently have no limits or boundaries. As tough as it may be some days, hang in there – soon enough, things will be different, I’m sure.

    • Thanks friend. I think many times I am too much of an optimist/idealist regarding other people and their behaviors. I am always willing to give someone the benefit of the doubt and I always expect the best from them.

  4. Hopefully with the draw-downs and cut backs in troop retention, more of these “dirty players” will take their boots for a hike. The politics piss off my husband so much. He is without a doubt a better soldier than “Soldier X” but because “Solider X” got to the unit the week before my husband, my husband, no matter what he does, is always overlooked in favor of “Soldier X”. He has seniority because of a week? And what’s worse is that “Soldier X” doesn’t want to be in the Army and has made it blatantly clear that as soon as his three year Active Duty term is up, he’s spending the rest as a Reservist. Keep being an optimist. They can’t keep toxic leadership around much longer, not with budget cuts. Now they can afford to get rid of these guys.

    • I’m sorry your husband is going through something similar. It drives me nuts when people play seniority that is based on a matter of days. Or that preference is given to whomever got to the base first. It’s beyond ridiculous.

      I hope you are right in that bad leadership will be gotten rid of.

Leave a Reply

