Weathering the Storm

I remember when we first moved here. We were in lodging for 5 straight weeks. The housing office here is as corrupt as they come and they screwed up majorly on getting us a house. We filed a complaint with the IG and the main thing I remember from finally moving in was how angry B was about the whole situation. And I remember telling him that I could either be angry about it with him or I could like this base, but that it couldn’t be both.

We both tried to move on. We tried to not let all of the negatives of this place weigh us down. Some no one had any control over, B had to act as the Summary Court Officer for two young men barely in their 20s when they died in freak accidents barely a month apart. Some, just seems designed to make the good people quit. There’s so much I can’t say about it, there’s so much I want to say about it.

We have both gotten beyond trying to like it here. We, and most of our close friends, are merely in the phase of weathering the storm. We escape the base whenever we can. But more Mondays begin with the words, “I have news that will ruin your day,” than not. And there’s not a damn thing that we can do about it. We can tell ourselves its just the dirty politics. We can tell ourselves that it isn’t a reflection on us. But we can’t like this place.

When I think back to that cold November day in 2011, when B told me that we’d be moving to Turkey, I was so excited. We had two friends that were supposed to join us here. It was supposed to be a good move. A good decision. Sadly, it wasn’t. We couldn’t have known what we were coming in to, but we figured it out quickly enough.

But thirteen months is a long time to just count down until you can leave. I’m not sure what we’re going to do to fight this. But we have to come up with something. There is a lot that we cannot change and that we must accept and weather. But, we need to find what we can change and give ourselves a chance to not just wish away all of 2013. Life is too short to spend it hunkered down and weathering the storm.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

