A New Year

Here we are, already 3 days in to 2013. It’s hard to believe how fast time flies sometimes. Wasn’t it just yesterday that I was nervously anticipating seeing B for the first time in three weeks? And now we’re closing in on 2.5 years married? Where does the time go?

There was a lot I wanted to say over the holiday season. But honestly, it wasn’t cheery or uplifting. This past holiday season was hard y’all. B worked on Christmas Day, New Year’s Eve, and New Year’s Day. I cried way more than I wanted or expected too. I spent Christmas Lhelping a friend get a Turkish cell phone plan and eating a fast food burger in the confines of my living room for dinner. So I stayed quiet.

But here we are anyway, in a new year. I have so much to look forward to this year. We have a trip to Germany coming up in April, a Mediterranean cruise with B’s family on our third anniversary. Our third wedding anniversary. This September will bring with it the knowledge of where we’ll be moving next. So much excitement coming up and I want to be ready to take on the world every single day this year. 2012 contains way more regrets than I like and I don’t want to look back in 365 days and say the same about 2013.

Mary put up the prompts to the Day Zero Project’s 2013 resolutions. I’ve been wrestling with the idea of resolutions for awhile now. At first I wanted to do something Happiness Project-esque and focus on something different every month. But, I’m not good at the idea of waiting until November to tackle x, y, or z. So then I just made a list of everything I’d like to improve. I had twelve categories with 3-4 items in each. Talk about overwhelming. So, after I read Mary’s resolutions from the prompts, I realized this is something I would like to do myself. Except, I’m going to revisit the ideas every month and update them as necessary. Without further ado, the prompts are:

  • Learn how to… [A new skill or hobby]
  • Start [Develop a habit]
  • Stop [Break a habit]
  • Take a vacation to… [Where would you most like to vacation to?]
  • Find [What are you looking for?]
  • Try [One new thing you want to try]
  • Be more [A personal characteristic to improve]

My version:

  • Learn how to run. I can’t tell y’all how many times I’ve said I’m going to start the C25K program. It’s been way too many. I’m currently on Week 1, with just one run left to start Week 2. This is the farthest I’ve ever gotten. But, remember that Mediterranean cruise I mentioned up there? Yeah, I want to feel fabulous in skimpy bikinis for the whole week.
  • Start meal planning. I have my first ever weekly meal plan sitting right beside me. In the past, we’ve planned 1-3 meals a week…and eaten out the rest. Both of us want to focus on being healthier and more financially astute by eating at home more. We’re committed to only eating out a couple of times a week at max. And that only for visiting with friends or having a date night.
  • Stop biting my nails. This prompt in particular has me excited to see how many of my bad habits I can break in 2013. The one that causes me the most mental duress though, is biting my nails. I hate the way my fingers look and how I feel after. Here’s to long, pretty nails in 2013.
  • Take a vacation to the Mediterranean. I cannot even begin to tell y’all how excited I am for this cruise. We’ll be going with B’s parents and his sister and I can not wait. There will hopefully be other trips in 2013 as well, but this is the one that has me the most excited. I already have a pinterest board just for the clothes I want to take with me on the cruise.
  • Find peace. 2012 was a rough year for me. There’s no way around it. I am taking steps to help find a better place to take refuge. But I want to find peace in my own heart and soul this year. I am tired of waging a war against myself, constantly apologizing, and constantly thinking that this just isn’t me.
  • Try weight lifting regularly.  Oh, I’ve done some before. But again, it’s an off and on thing. I would like to go 3x a week, alternating with my running days and leaving 1-2 rest days a week.
  • Be more out there. I have withdrawn so far in to myself that I don’t even recognize myself sometimes. I want to break this shell that I hide in and get more active. This involves me sendingg two messages a week to old friends. I also want to be more involved here on base and will start by making the time to attend spouse events.

What are you doing in 2013?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in 7x13 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A New Year

  1. Stereo says:

    Happy New year, gorgeous!

    It sounds like this year holds good things and for that, I am truly happy. I am harbouring a sneaky hope that we get to meet this year too ♥

  2. Army Amy says:

    Sounds like a rough couple of days. I hope that 2013 provides the fresh start you are looking for! “Find peace.” Love that goal! Sounds like the perfect one for you. (And I think it might be perfect for me, too!)

    I’m excited for all your travels! Where in Germany are you going? I’ve been in Graf for the past few months and all the places we’ve traveled from here, we’ve loved. I was hoping for a Med cruise myself, but alas, the Army has other ideas. We’ll by in El Paso by the time the weather warms up. But I fully plan to live vicariously through your blog, so I hope you have the most fantastic time!*

    • My husband is trying (again) for PRK surgery up in Landstuhl, so we’ll be going up there. If he is told yes we can have it, then we’ll try and do something right before hand; if he’s told no, then we’ll just hang with our friends in the local area. Anything that gets us out of Southern Turkey makes us happy.

      Thanks for stopping by! And good luck with the move and the retransition to living CONUS.

      • Army Amy says:

        I’m crossing my fingers that your husband gets his surgery! And if it doesn’t work out, then I hope you still manage to have a great time in Germany!*

      • My goal is to have his initial appointment on a Friday with the surgery scheduled for a Monday. That way even if they tell him no, we still have a weekend to while away up in Germany. :)

  3. Mary says:

    This is a great list! I want to get better with meal planning, too – it helps with staying focused on health as well as saving money, and not just vs. eating out. When I menu plan, I make a grocery list with what I need on it, and stick to just the list. These days it’s a lot of “ooh, let’s do that…” and it adds up quickly!

Leave a Reply

