Finally Feeling Better

Almost two weeks ago now it hit. My stomach cramped up, I didn’t feel so good, but it’s fairly standard for this part of the world. I shrugged it off and figured it would pass. I taught my lessons that afternoon, walked the dog, and just did my thing. By the next morning, I hadn’t slept, had excruciating back pain, and was so nauseous that the thought of food made me feel worse. I was ill enough that B insisted I call the doctor, dialing the number and putting me on the line. Digestive issues are so common here that you can’t get a doctor appointment without a telephone consult first, so I cancelled my lessons for the day and curled up on the couch waiting for the return call. By the time they did call back, my back hurt much less and I felt okay, not great, but okay. I tried to play it off, but one of the benefits/downsides of a small base is that you know everyone, including the nurse calling for details of your bowel movements. He insisted on getting me an appointment for the next day. It turned into a good thing too, because by the next morning I was even worse off, to the point that I almost passed out at my doctor’s appointment. They gave me antibiotics and immodium and wished me the best of luck.

My health is something that I seriously take for granted, until I don’t have it. We had to cancel two weekends in a row our plans to go out hiking. There was no way I had the energy, much less the capability of being away from a bathroom for that long. I’ve spent our evenings out with friends, curled up next to Brian not moving in the hopes that my stomach would stay settled. And I’ve ordered blander offerings when we eat out so as not to throw off the delicate balance in my system. All minor problems to be sure, but ones that really make me realize how lucky I am to be as healthy as I am.

This last Sunday, 12 days after I started to feel bad, I finally started to feel better. I’m nine pounds lighter, tire pretty easily, and am still squeamish about certain foods. But I’m finally getting there. I’m also very grateful for being healthy again. I’d never realized exactly how unfun it is to be sick for an extended length of time. I’m thankful to be feeling better and I’m ready to get out there and do some of that cancelled exploring.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally Feeling Better

  1. Sarah Sue says:

    ah shoot, i’m so sorry you have been so sick – there is really nothing worse than stomach trouble (except maybe 12 days of stomach trouble – yikes!). you’re a trooper girl, glad you are finally feeling better!

Leave a Reply

