For Granted

There are few things in life that will give you pause like the full force of love. Meeting B, was like walking into a wall. The night that we met, the moment that he came in to my life, he redirected my life course. Everything changed.

I remember when we were long distance, how just the tone of the text coming in would make me smile. Getting a text from B would make any bad day good. And my Mom talked about how that wouldn’t always be the case. I was young and in love and laughed her off. I wish I had listened more.

I’ve been caught in the dregs of every day life and I’ve committed one of the standard sins of marriage. I’ve taken him for granted. I’ve let his attempts to cheer me up wash over me and go to waste.

And yet, I can still close my eyes and feel the full force of our first meeting. I can still feel the physical warmth that rushed over me when he first told me that he loved me. And every time I hear the “glass chime” ring tone I still smile.

I want to live more in the moment. And remember that I am one of the few and lucky to have met my soul mate. That doesn’t mean that everything will always be good and easy; but it does mean that I need to remember the love that we have for each other.

That love makes all the difference.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

