Rainy Day

I woke in the pitch black dark of my room. Thunder rolled in the distance. I twisted beneath the covers to see my alarm clock. 0530. I still had another hour to sleep, though it mostly eluded me. The soft whisper of rain was lost beneath the a/c and fan in my room; but the thunder, oh the thunder, rolled in the distance growing ever nearer.

When I finally slipped from my bed to the tune of my alarm, the dreary day was preserved. Dark gray skies, softly falling rain, punctuated every now and then with lightning. The whole world is dampened, awash with the smell, feel, and sound of a rainstorm.

I made my way to work where I sang with 20 preschoolers about hearing thunder. We danced around the classroom to the rhythm of the lightning. We stood at the doorway and watched the rain fall down. Everything around us glistened with raindrops and trembled in the wind.

I have missed these gray wet days. I am happy to welcome them in. Happy Fall.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rainy Day

  1. Stereo says:

    Sort of thrilled for you considering you’ve been suffering in 100 degree heat for so long. And this, my dear, is beautifully written.

Leave a Reply

