Oh, hi there

There’s no way to pretend like it hasn’t been a long time. I’m sporadic right now. In everything. Some days I’m up and some days I’m down. But I’m still fighting to put one foot in front of the other each step of the way. I’m not making promises I can’t keep right now. It’s just not good for my health. So here’s a bullet point list of what I’ve been up to for the last little bit. I’ll go ahead and pretend that anyone actually reads this anymore. You can pretend with me.

  • We flew back to the US and spent 2 weeks there. We went for B’s brother’s wedding, then spent time with my parents in Chicago, and then ended the trip in Michigan with B’s family. It was a whirlwind trip that just reaffirmed how much I miss living in the US.
  • The flights were horrendously long. We spent 27 hours in transit on the way there and 29 on the way back. Don’t ever fly through Newark. They only have one runway and our flight was 4.5 hours late. We spent long enough on the plane before take off to watch 1.5 movies. It was ridiculous.
  • Work is interesting. The children are amazing and fun and make the job worth it. The women I work with make me want to quit weekly. Luckily a bunch of them are either quitting or heading out on maternity leave so I get a nice long break. I’m also opening now, which helps the days go by faster.
  • B is getting eye surgery done next month. It involves a trip out of country, over a week of pre and post op appointments plus the surgery itself. Due to the short staffing at work, I will not be able to go with him. I’m torn on this one, I know I’d go and likely spend all my time sitting around watching him sleep, but I hate sending him out of country to have surgery by himself without me there to take care of him.
  • I’m still fighting to find a happy place. Some days I’m pretty positive that work is just masking everything. At least I’ve managed not to lose it every weekend recently. Now if I could just manage to not lose it during the week too. Last night was a perfect example of this. We turned over to go to sleep and I just started crying and couldn’t stop. Luckily I have an amazing husband who will just hold me through it all.
  • This has been a bad year. So many deaths. The two boys right as we moved here, where we had to work closely with their families to get everything back to them. B’s grandfather at a time when we couldn’t go home to be with the family. My two friends in a tragic accident the night after they got engaged. And finally a friend and mom of four to an allergic reaction to antibiotics.
  • B and I go back to opposite shifts in October. I should be working M-F from 0530-1430 or 0630-1530 and he will be working a four and two from 1400-2200. But don’t let that fool you, he’ll really work from 1300-2300. Because that’s just how his job works. Plus the ten or so days that he’ll be in a different country. Yeah, October is not shaping up to be my favorite month. The good news is that November should feature him working from 2200-0600 (2100-0700) which should let us at least spend our evenings together. And then December should have him on training, which means we should get Christmas off together at least.
  • We’re planning a trip to we’re not sure where in December. We’ve decided that we have to have something to look forward to or we’ll both go insane. Hopefully by December my work will have calmed down and with us both having a 4-day for Christmas, we want to go somewhere.
  • I hope that things have calmed down enough in this part of the world for us to be able to go to the beach this weekend. We had to cancel last weekend thanks to all the protests. I have my fingers crossed but I’m also trying to not get my hopes up.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh, hi there

  1. Stereo says:

    Damn gir, you have been busy as anything over the last few weeks and it’s looking like you’re going to be getting busier and dealing with the conflicting work schedules again. Blah. I’m right here though, if you need a weekend break in London to take your mind off things. And I am praying for a smooth op and speedy recovery for B ♥

  2. Sarah Sue says:

    i’m reading! I’ve been thinking about you friend – very glad for an update on your life, thank you for posting. Sounds like you have been tested lately, emotionally and physically. I’m very proud of you for persevering. I know it must be hard to be so far away but know that you have lots of love and prayers coming your way! love you girl.

Leave a Reply

