738

It’s amazing how quickly each day flows in to the next one. Especially once a work routine is established. They start to blur together and before you know it more of them pass than you’d realized would be possible. Then you’re left wondering where they all went. And sometimes, you wonder if what you’re doing is worth losing another precious second to.

Last Friday was our 2 year wedding anniversary. It fit right in with the wedding itself and the first anniversary. That is to say, we acknowledged it very quietly. We’re a pretty laid back couple. We don’t exchange gifts much at all (he loathes receiving them and still hasn’t let me buy his birthday gift, though he has good reasons for that too), and we decided early on that we didn’t want to do gifts on our anniversary. Just trips when we can and a nice dinner somewhere we wouldn’t normally go otherwise. Which meant that at the end of a week where he’d worked more 14 hour days than 10, we didn’t do anything unusual on our anniversary. Just regular dinner and a movie with friends. Tonight, a week later, we had a dinner just us to celebrate.

I know that some would say we don’t do it right. There are no cards, no flowers, no gifts. Just a quiet dinner and then back home to chill out from another long week. Yet it’s just right for us. We’re not really up on mushy cards. He’s never really bought me flowers and we give gifts when it’s good to buy them. Not just because of certain days. Some days I wish we were a more romantic (in the flowers/chocolates/candle lit dinner sense) couple, but then I realize that romance is him cuddling me when I need it. It’s notes on scraps of paper tucked in random spots to be found. It’s getting up to feed the dog so the other can sleep. It’s doing the dishes because you know the other person is tired. And it’s going out to dinner because you’re too tired to cook. Maybe we don’t do things the way every couple does. And we certainly don’t do them the way Hallmark wants us too, but the way we do them is reflective on who we are.

So here we are, 738 days later. It’s still sort of surreal. It’s not a fairy tale though. Just real life. Life with it’s ups and downs. Life with it’s hard times and tears. Life with it’s joys and laughter. And you know something? I wouldn’t have it any other way. He is my strong hold. He is my rock, my partner in crime, and the only one I need by my side.

Here’s to the next 738 days.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 738

  1. Mary says:

    Happy anniversary! :)

  2. MJ says:

    Wow! Two already! Congrats! Glad you two enjoyed it in your own way :)

Leave a Reply

