Act of Valor

B picked this out for us to watch this weekend. I’d already nixed the scary movie, so it was down to two action movies and we walked out with Act of Valor. He said the action scenes were supposed to be really good, even if the acting was sub par. All I can say after seeing it, is that if you walk away thinking about the acting, you’ve missed the point.

It’s been a long time since I’ve cried that much and that hard through an entire movie. I mean, during my first aborted attempt at watching Up, I bawled through the opening montage and wouldn’t watch the rest. When we watched What Dreams May Come, I also cried the entire time. But neither of those hit home the way this movie did. And trust me, I know it’s situational. I mean, here I am, a military spouse watching a movie about military personnel. That won’t ever not hit home again. Somehow though, the lack of acting skill, the story line, as tried as it may have been, they reached through and they touched a place in my soul that I don’t let light shine on.

From the over-narration at the beginning, to the scenes with the families and the goodbyes, all the way to the closing scenes with fists hammering in pins, this movie wracked my heart and soul. I knew the pain, I felt the loss, I ached with them and I celebrated with them. It comes down to the fact that freedom’s price is never cheap and I know the cost can be steep. But no matter how much you’ll miss them, you just want them to hurry home to you. That’s the goal of every one of them who leaves, to get back home. And, this film, it captured that essence.

And from this moment on, my only prayer will be;

For your safe return, darling home to me.

No matter where you go, no matter what happens to you;

I’ll be right here at home, waiting for you. Hurry home.

It’s more than a prayer, that desire and plea for safety for your loved ones. It is their Acts of Valor that the world heralds, lauds, and too often derides. It is our behind the scenes hope that brings them home again.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Act of Valor

  1. Oh sweetie! Promise me you will never ever ever watch “We Were Soldiers” because it will scar you deeply. I get teary eyed just thinking of the movie. It is a fantastic movie for family and friends to watch because it gives an amazing picture of how BOTH spouses are affected by war. 

    I love you two. (Three really!)

    WE NEED TO SKYPE!

Leave a Reply

