Dear husband…

This post is inspired by some of the many statements on Pinterest that indicate that everyone should do something a certain way. Most of these are addressed to future husbands and the like, so I’m writing my version to B instead. This is intended as humorous, so if you have no humor, please don’t read them. Also, realize that many of these come with notes to “all guys” that “all girls” want these things. We don’t, but instead of commenting on random strangers’ pins, I’m posting it here in my safe haven.

Dear Husband, thank you so much for not hiring a secret photographer when you proposed to me. Thank you for just letting that moment exist between the two of us. It was an intensely personal time that I would not have wanted to share with anyone, so thank you for not asking a random person to be there with the flashbulb popping. Besides, can you imagine how awkward it would have been if they’d snapped the first picture too soon? Regardless, thank you for letting us just get engaged without any pageantry or extra people.

Dear husband, I am so glad that we saw each other pre-ceremony on our wedding day. I mean, I know we had to ride in the same car to get there and share the same small bathroom to get ready, but still. Even when we “do it right” I plan on seeing you before anything else happens. You are the reason I’m doing all this, so I want to see you and be with you. Also, do people realize that the tradition comes from arranged marriages? You know, the whole don’t let the groom see the bride or he might not buy her from them after all…

Dear husband, Call me modern, but I’m so glad that you didn’t ask my Dad for permission. I happy that you recognized that I am my own person and that I am the only one you needed to ask. I’m glad that you know that I would have said yes to you, even if they didn’t give their permission or blessing. And I guess that’s the part that hinges this one for me, my Dad saying no wouldn’t have meant that I would say no. Which means that I’m the only one with the answer that matters. So, thank you for not considering me property to be asked for and taken, but an equal that you could join for life.

~The Countess~

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear husband…

  1. Stereo says:

    Amen to it all.

Leave a Reply

