Thankful Thursdays

I’m bringing this back. As part of my journey to finding a better place, I’m bringing back Thankful Thursdays. Each week I’m  going to write down what has made me thankful in the last week as well as positive things about myself. I’m not going to set a number limit, because I dislike false restrictions or goals. Some weeks may be numbered lists, some may be more like essays on the subject, it just depends on what I’m feeling that week. If you’d like to join me on counting your blessings or otherwise expressing your gratitude, please do, let me know in the comments and I’ll come visit you.

I am thankful for my husband. He is a good man. Last night someone here had an emergency appendectomy. B was on duty at the time and was therefore notified, he went above and beyond his duty by finding out who was going to be there with the guy when he came out of surgery. When the answer was no one, B went. Because that is who he is and I’m lucky enough to be his wife.

I am thankful for my job. It is full of drama. It’s drowning in a sea of estrogen. There’s so much I could say, but will never because of working for the government and not wanting to lose my job.  But oh, the stories I could tell. What I will tell you? The children make it worth it. Getting the hugs, the pictures, the smiles and giggles. That all makes it worth it. Being the person they turn to for comfort, it’s amazing. Getting to have a hand in helping them grow up is a wonder-filled thing.

I am thankful for being reminded that I am a smart, capable person. One of the lies of depression is that I am not worth anything. That I am no good. I have been reminded several times this week that this isn’t true. From random statements by supervisors and coworkers to the comments of friends, I’m reminded that this is the truth of my reality. The other is naught but a lie from depression and it has no hold over me.

I am thankful for friends who understand. More than words can express. I’ve tried typing this a few times and it just isn’t coming out right. Just know, that you’re there and I am so glad that you are. Y’all make my world go round.

And finally, I am thankful for a day of training that ended a few hours early so that I can have some down time and get things done. Not to mention spend time with B. That doesn’t happen much during the week right now.

What are you thankful for today?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful Thursdays

  1. Stereo says:

    I’m thankful that things are looking up for you.
    I’m thankful that for our friendship.
    I’m thankful for people who reach out during hard times.
    I’m thankful that it is Friday ;)

Leave a Reply

