Fitness Fridays: Baby Steps

Something that I’ve learned in life is that no huge change happens over night. When I gained weight post-marriage, it’s not like I woke up one morning to the extra poundage just magically attached to my body. Nope, rather it took months of slow creepage upwards that was ignored, rationalized, and justified. When I decided to lose the weight, it also didn’t happen over night. It took me from July to December to lose the 23ish pounds that I’ve lost. And I’ve been sitting amongst the same couple of pounds since then.

Now, part of this is because I’ve found a place where my body weight is naturally comfortable. And it’s a healthy weight for me, on the low end of my BMI, has me in a clothing size that I’m comfortable with, etc. So, the part of me that wants to lose more weight is the part of me that’s never been comfortable with being taller than everyone else and therefore hasn’t accepted that my number is going to be higher than one belonging to a shorter girl. Accepting that has been like running a marathon while only taking baby steps.

This last week my goals were to eat at home, unless we had plans to eat with friends, and to work out 3x not including walking the dog.

We succeeded on the first, which is a huge step for us. I think this is the first time since we moved that we didn’t go out for dinner 3-4 nights of the week. Sunday,  Tuesday, and Wednesday were all at home meals. Thursday we ate out, but that was for my birthday and was planned and Monday we had already planned on doing the wings night at the bowling center. Today we’ve eaten lunch at home so far. On Wednesday I even cooked lunch (PF Changs at home meals for two) and dinner (ribs cooked in the oven). Like I said, this is a resounding success for us. Even if it doesn’t seem like much of one on paper. It really is big that we can even claim 3 days of the week as completely at home. Now my goal is to just up that number each week.

For the second goal? I completely failed. I had the motivation and then the commies stormed the funhouse and ended any plans besides consuming large quantities of caffeine and shedding vast amounts of tears. I’m not sure what I need to do about this. I think one of my big problems stems from having no schedule during the day. And I’m in complete limbo regarding my job/employment situation. I just know that the status quo can’t stay the same. I’m happy with my weight/size/etc but my fitness level sucks. I’m like the stereotypical “skinny” girl who’s out of shape. And I can’t with that anymore.

This week’s goals:

1. Begin the C25K program. Get up with B on his PT mornings (MWF) and complete the C25K program on those mornings. Reading Matt’s story over at asmallloss has motivated me to give running another try, but with the summer heat beating down on me, it’s time to make myself get up early to get my exercise on. I’m hoping that since B has to get up for PT at 0630 three times a week that I can join him in that.

2. Go to the gym to lift weights at least 2x. When B first introduced me to the weight machines, I fell in love. I love knowing that I’m building strength. But somewhere along the line, like when we moved/bought an elliptical/quit going to the gym as a couple, I fell out of the habit. It’s time for that to change.

3. Do crunches every day before my shower. No excuses.

That’s  it for this week. All fitness related because with the eating at home underway, I’m pretty happy with my nutrition for now. I also hope that by going all exercise that it’ll force me to quit with the excuses so I don’t have to report a “failure” next week.

What are your goals for this week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, OBB2012, Operation Bikini Body and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

