I believe

Something that I’ve fallen off of talking about has been my faith. I’m not entirely sure why, because I think about it and reformulate my ideas on it a lot. And yet, in part I know that I don’t speak on it much because I feel like faith and belief are so intensely personal that you rarely find people who believe just like you do and because of how personal it is, people tend to argue about it constantly. Still, my faith, even when it wavers, is a part of who I am. As the chorus from Rich Mullins’ Creed goes,I believe what I believe is what makes me what  I am.

So what do I believe?

It’s complicated, but my beliefs are something I will be digging into on Sundays for the next little bit. I may seem to contradict myself, but I want to set out for myself and explore deeper than bounds of faith.

Faith is the evidence of things hoped for; the proof of things unseen. Hebrews 11:1

Faith is often derogatorily harassed as being blind belief. People speak of taking a leap of faith or having faith like a child; which doesn’t necessarily do much to elevate it in the minds of those who dismiss it. I get where they are coming from, both sides. I’ve had that faith that believes unquestioningly and I now have faith that has been tempered by doubt and questions. Yet, I do not envy my former self her unwavering belief, because I believe now that my faith is deeper and stronger for having made it through to the other side.

Faith is probably one of the most indefinable aspects of religious belief. Ask someone about their faith and get beyond the rote answers and you’ll learn a lot about yourself and the other person. My faith, my evidence of things hoped for, my proof of things unseen, rests in a God that created us, loves us, and seeks to reconcile us to him.

I believe in God the Father Almighty, Maker of Heaven and Earth.

I believe in a created world, a God spoke and bang it happened big bang theory. But I don’t discount science. I believe that science and religion can coexist and answer different questions about life. I believe that the greatest calling in life is to love one another.

What do you believe?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I believe

  1. I actually really like when people post about their beliefs. I rarely talk about religion or politics on my blog because I feel that some people have such strong beliefs that it’s hard to have a good open conversation without offending someone or getting heated up. Maybe one day I will be strong enough to share. But in the meantime, kudos for you!

    • People getting heated is one reason that I’m leery of discussing it myself. I don’t like or want arguments on my blog, but it is a part of who I am, so I’ll be talking about it. At least a little bit.

  2. Deborah says:

    Love Rich Mullins. I created a blog about his journey of faith.

Leave a Reply

