Fitness Fridays: A Beginning

In an attempt to dust myself off and get back on posting regularly about things that I love and that mean a lot to me, I’ve decided to start a Fitness Friday series. If you want to join in, please feel free and leave your links in the comments. I have been working for whole life health for a while now and this is just going to be a continuation of the same theme.

Here we are at the first of yet another month. It’s sort of crazy to realize that we are starting the halfway month for 2012. We’ll reach the longest day of the year, the hottest months of the year, at least for those of us in the Northern Hemisphere, and of course ,the most important part of June – my birthday. I know, you’re all shocked I would even have to mention it as being so important, but I worry that if I don’t remind myself I might even forget. It’s not like I’ve actually celebrated the day on the day of anytime in recent history. I think I actually spent the last 2 birthdays on a plane. But that’s neither here nor there.

Since we’ve moved, I’ve been in something of a fitness rut. Only, I think it might be a bit worse than that. I’ve been stuck in a start again mode for way too long. It started innocuously enough, as these sort of things are want to do. I was just trying to stay balanced during our move (which I did, still at my low-end weight) and all the upheaval. But that fed into just not knowing what to do. B’s schedule has been crazy, so he uses our at home elliptical for workouts meaning we don’t do much gym time anymore at all.

Then I got invited to yoga. I decided that was going to be my thing and I would start going. Until the teacher was out of town for a week. Then back for a week. Then gone for another week. And now she’s moving in just a few short weeks. Maybe yoga won’t be my thing after all. The same girl who invited me to yoga also extended the invitation to do a cross-fit knock off style workout with her as well. Again, I decided this would be my thing. I could barely walk the next day, that had to mean what we were doing was great, right? Only, it wasn’t so much. I’m not a fan of exercise programs designed to make you feel like a failure even if you’re in peak physical condition. Next we tried swimming. I’m not a great swimmer, but I was sure that the sun, water, and friends would make up for it. And it did, at least for a few days.Here’s my confession, the only thing I have done consistently in the workout arena since January is walk the puppy. He gets a 3ish mile walk every day. Pretty much no exceptions because he goes off the wall bonkers if we miss said walk.

So here I am, at another beginning. The beginning of June, the beginning of a new series, and the beginning of me trying to get back on the exercise bandwagon. My plan is to talk about fitness and life every Friday as well as set and recap goals for each week. I’d love to have everyone who’s interested join in, even if you’d rather pick a different day to post.  I like Friday to recap since it ends the work week and gives me the weekend to refocus on getting back to my goals.

Week One Goals:

1. Eat at home more. We’re currently eating out too much again, it’s a bad habit that happens every time we move. I’m looking for next week S-Th to only eat out 1x. I always try to cut us some slack on the weekends so there’s no limit Friday dinner through Sunday lunch. We all work crazy schedules and getting together with friends often has to involve meals. I know this one is going to be a bit tough because we’ve got a lot going on this week, but it’s time for us to get back to having easy at home meals in lieu of grabbing fast food.

2. Work out 3x over the walk the dog minimum. It can be anything. Crunches and strength before hopping in the shower, jumping on the elliptical, actually going to the gym to do weights, or even yoga or swimming. Just 3 occurrences of getting off my butt and working back towards a healthier me.

That’s it for me for this week. I want to make this achievable. I want to set myself up for success. I just want to get back on the bandwagon. Care to join me?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in OBB2012, Operation Bikini Body and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fitness Fridays: A Beginning

  1. Mary says:

    Eating at home isn’t an issue for me now – can’t really go to a restaurant when you’re on a bike :\ and I decided when I started to get healthy that eating anywhere but home is a social thing and ought to be reserved for shared experiences. That said, I’m a bit nervous about going back to Chicago and easing back into going out to eat with friends, family, Matt, etc. Need to find my healthy balance!

    • Yeah, I don’t mind eating out when it’s social, but it’s turned into eating out because we’re lazy. Or rather, because I’m fighting depression and don’t want to cook after a long day at home and B doesn’t want to cook after a long day of work. So, we really have to find a better balance. I think I am going to try and implement that unless it’s a date night or eating with friends that we won’t eat out.

      Balance in eating out is really hard too. And there’s very little that’s healthy on the menus here. Makes it hard.

Leave a Reply

