Catching

I’ve noticed a trend recently and it scares me a little. We all seem to be catching it too. It’s going around like a wildfire, leaving us burned out, blackened, and only charred remains are in the wake of it’s path. Call it apathy, burn-out, lack of interest, or what have you, but it is definitely catching.

It’s a missed post here, no more comments there, and another light grows dim in the encroaching shadows. Dust gathers at the corner, darkness spreads across the main. We struggle to motivate, write, beckon, and share. Sometimes the burden is too much publicity and not feeling safe in a space. Sometimes the burden is too little interaction and feeling lost in the cosmos.

How do we combat the apathy that grows everyday? How do we combat the fatigue of writing day after day? Where do we find the answers in being real? Staying true? Being us?

I’ve always tried to maintain that I write for myself. But that’s horse shit and I know it. I write as a means of reaching out to this big old world, looking for kindred spirits to share my path. The growing silence alarms me, scares me, frightens me; but still I often pause and delete instead of publishing the post or comment of the moment.

I miss the community. I miss the thriving sense of life in and among the blogs. As days sometime turn into weeks between posts, I miss the people behind the words and wish you all well, even if I never find the courage to say so.

I miss you. Every one of you.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Catching

  1. Mary says:

    I’ve been horrible about blogging lately – both writing and commenting. Most of that is because I am getting ready to move so my computer is set up on my kitchen counter … not the most comfortable place to sit! My summer class is very small, though, so I hope to use some of my office hours this month to get back on track with commenting!

    • I certainly understand the moving throwing off the blogging and commenting part of life. I’m just ready to start fighting my way back into participating in our online circles again.

Leave a Reply

