Four Days

In 17 hours or so, B should be off of work and we should have four, fabulous, whole days off together. He’s getting them as some special day off because he and his guys just rocked the shit out of their big inspection. Seriously, I’m so incredibly proud of them. He’s the only officer to get the outstanding performer notice from the inspectors, and his flight counted for 12 of the 20 overall outstanding performer’s for the base. That means that he commanded 60% of the base’s top guys during this inspection. It’s huge; freakingly, awesomely, huge. And I can’t brag about it yet too much publicly because they still haven’t done the press release for it.

But still, four days off. I still haven’t started work yet. It’s a nightmare of paperwork that I can’t even do. Evidently the government switched to a new system for starting out new employees and they’ve gotten majorly backlogged with it. So, they can’t even guarantee that I’ll be working a month from now. It’s frustrating, but mostly because another organization on base refused to finish processing my paperwork with them when I received this job offer. Now I’m going to be out 4-8 weeks of work that I could have done with them while waiting for the other to go through. Oh well, more their loss than mine.

And if I was, I might not get the next four days with B. This will be the first chance we’ve had to just relax and draw away since we moved here. We’ve been going nonstop since 14 February when we finally got our orders here. I’m looking forward to the rejuvenation, the ability to go out with friends, and probably way too much time spent playing video games. It’s going to be divine.

We’re taking one of those days, Saturday, to go see Tarsus and the sites that we had to cancel back on that fateful day in April. I’m excited to escape base and go play tourist somewhere that I can actually take pictures without feeling awkward. I’m really happy about this.

I’m looking forward to making dinner with him and not having him fall asleep on my lap on the couch half an hour later. I’m looking forward to cuddling in bed in the mornings while telling our puppy he can wait to be fed. I’m looking forward to running errands in the afternoon with him and taking the dog for a walk together instead of alone. I’m looking forward to just sharing my daily moments with another soul.

Four days. I cannot wait.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Four Days

  1. I’m happy fo ryou guys! You will definitely enjoy your little mini staycation together : )

  2. Stereo says:

    Thrilled for you, love! I can’t imagine how hard it must have been for you and your B. Enjoy your time :)

Leave a Reply

