All About B

There are things going on at this exact moment that I want to shout from the rooftops, but I’m going to exercise a little caution and restraint for now and wait to share anything once everything is official. Needless to say, if things pan out, then I have a lot to look forward to over the next few months and things should start to get easier here too. At least if we can keep people from dying on us when we go to a certain off-base restaurant. We are three for three on our last three trips there. Yeah, gallows humor, it’s what I get being married to a cop right now. Today’s change of pace post is stolen from here and I found her blog randomly and just thought this quiz looked like fun. And I wanted something happier than all the downer posts I’ve been putting up lately.

1. Where did we meet?
We met on 28 November 2009. It was a Saturday night, the one after Thanksgiving and we were both out dancing at Cowboy’s Dance club in San Antonio. I was there with a cousin and a dear friend, and he was there with two really good buddies. Our groups joined up and once he was by my side I didn’t let him slip away all night. At the end of the night, I gave him my number before driving my friends home.

2. Where was our first date? 
Our first date was on 29 November 2009. No, he didn’t believe in the three day rule and I’m so glad. He texted me (yeah, we always did text more than talk) that Sunday around lunch and asked if I remembered him, wanted to get together, and what there was to do in SA on a Sunday afternoon. Three hours later we met up at the San Antonio Zoo and spent the next 6 hours walking, looking at animals, talking, and just having fun. I was smitten and luckily so was he.

3. What was my first impression of him?
He was wearing a burgundy red button up, faded denim jeans, boots, and a black cowboy hat. I saw him before they came up to us and I flashed a smile and he smiled back and I loved how it crinkled his eyes. I know people will say it’s just hindsight, but I really did just have a feeling about him from the beginning. I knew he was charming, sarcastic, intelligent, and in the military.

4. When did he meet my family?
He met my family on 15 February 2010. At this point we’d been long distance since mid-December and when he decided to fly in for Valentine’s Day he offered to meet my folks. The original plan was for him to fly in on the 13th, go to dinner with my family that night, and then have the 14th and 15th to ourselves. Well, February 2010 hosted a freak snow storm in Atlanta that caused his Saturday flight to be cancelled. He ended up landing about 2 hours before our dinner reservations on the 14th. We thought about just scrapping his meet the family gig, but ended up eating lunch for them at a Whataburger in my hometown.

meet the family

5. Does he have any weird obsessions? What?
Beyond video games? He owns a PS3, XBOX360, Wii, and a really nice computer. Our tv is a 50 inch Plasma, HD, etc, etc, etc. But I don’t think it’s that weird, pretty typical for a guy and he’s nice enough to let me game with him too.

6. How long have we been together?
Almost 2.5 years. Or 29 months to be exact. And married for 20 of those. How crazy are we? That should answer it right there.

7. Do we have a tradition together?
Sushi Sundays were our much beloved traditions while we lived in Germany. But probably our strangest one is that we never give gifts on actual events. We give Christmas and Birthday gifts super early, namely whenever it’s convenient to buy them and then give them because neither one of us waits well. We also celebrate our anniversaries (we celebrate both the dating and the marriage ones) with trips instead of gifts.

8. What was  our first road trip?
Just under a month after we got married, we drove from North Dakota to Michigan and then Michigan to Maryland to ship our car and board the plane to Germany. We actually had a blast driving together and plotting out our itinerary along the way. While we lived in Germany, road trips were our thing and we visited Belgium, the Netherlands, Switzerland, and various parts of Germany all by car trips.

9. What was the first thing I noticed about him?
I sort of already answered this one, but it was his smile.

10. What is his favorite restaurant?
Red Robin for their endless fries and campfire sauce. He’s a simple man.

11. What do we argue about the most?
Arguing implies to me that there are raised voices and we never do. Honestly, we don’t disagree about the same things twice. We’re pretty good at resolving things the first time through.

12. Who wears the pants in the relationship?
Again, this to me implies that one of us is in control. If anything is in control of our lives, it would be his job. That tells us where we live, for how long, and all that goes along with it. But he doesn’t tell me what to do, I don’t try and manipulate him into doing things. We’re pretty relaxed in that regard.

13. If he’s watching TV, what is he watching?
Community, Archer, How I Met Your Mother, or a rented movie

14. What is one food he doesn’t like?
Onions and with a passion. Even if they’re cooked up, I have to blend them or he won’t eat them. One time, his Mom decided to trick him into eating them and so she put onions in a dinner muffin and didn’t tell him. I didn’t know she’d done it and had just met his family 2-3 days earlier. So, he grabs one, breaks it in half and pops one half into his mouth – the whole thing. He went from happy to disgusted to what do I do all while his family laughed. I handed him my napkin and he spit it out. The story is a fun part of family history now.

15. What drink does he order when we go out to eat?
Water or Coke Zero for the most part. Colaweissen in Germany if he was drinking. Otherwise he’s a mixed drink guy when we’re out at a bar.

16. What size shoe does he wear?
13. We both have big feet that make it hard to find shoes while living in foreign countries.

17. What is his favorite kind of sandwich?
It changes regularly. He loves grilled cheese with tomato soup, roast beef with horseradish sauce, a turkey ranch club, or a BLT.

18. What is one talent he has?
He has many. But my personal favorite, is his ability to make me smile, no matter what else is going on.

19. What would he eat every day if he could?
Pizza. And I’ve seen him do it on shift days. It’s the one thing he can pack for lunch that he can eat hot or cold as needed. Which is important in his job where he’s often away from an office for hours at a time.

20. What is his favorite cereal?
He eats whatever is on sale that still has a decent amount of fiber and health benefits.

21. What is his favorite music?
I don’t know if I could name his favorite band or song. But he loves finding new songs.

22. What is his favorite sports team?
He doesn’t care much for conventional sports. And we live overseas without much access or ability to watch them, so I really don’t know. He mostly just reads up on the sports news so that he can still talk about game day stuff with the hardcore fans in his flight.

23. What is his eye color?
Brown.

24. Who is his best friend?
Hrmm, he has two friends from high school Sparky and the Pianist that probably tie for old, school friends. And then he has his military buddies and they’re more like family than just friends.

25. What is something he does that I wish he didn’t do?
Leave his jeans on the floor of our bedroom and his work clothes hanging over a chair in our living room. The work clothes I can forgive, because hey, the man goes to work at 0445 every morning, so whatever he can do to make it easier on himself is fine by me. The jeans we are working on and I plan on changing it once our new bedroom furniture gets here. Funny aside, one thing he does that doesn’t bother me? He leaves the toilet seat up. I just can’t bring myself to getting upset or worked up over that. I mean, I need it down so I put it down, he needs it up so he puts it up. Not that hard.

26. Where is he from?
Grand Rapids, MI

27. What kind of cake would I bake him on his birthday?
Whatever he requested. He loves my brownies and cookies, though I’ve made some pretty impressive cakes recently too. He likes chocolate – but no nuts or coconut. And he likes pretty much all of my experiments.

28. Does he play any sports?
He was a football and baseball star for his high school. And he played Team Handball for Team USA during their 2012 Olympic qualification attempt. Yeah, I might be just a touch proud on that one.

29. What can he spend hours doing?
Playing with our dog, reading, writing, playing video games, exploring somewhere new, researching something random that he’s decided he should know more about.

30. If he could live anywhere, where would it be?
Colorado or Texas.

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

