50 Questions: Part Three

 

1. You’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire.  They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend.  The criticism is distasteful and unjustified.  What do you do?

I stand up for my friend. Always. Not speaking up is implied agreement to their statement. Maybe I just change the subject, maybe I clarify who they’re talking about so that they know she’s my friend, maybe I call them out on it being wrong. It would honestly depend on what they’re saying. I’ve been the victim many times of people saying things about me and others just sitting by and listening to it and I won’t do that to anyone else.

2. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?

That’s so hard. Not knowing the challenges they’ll face in life, the pains they’ll learn, the joys they’ll experience. Such a blank slate in life. I think I would tell them to love themselves for who they are. I’ve heard it said that until you learn to truly love yourself that you are crippled from being able to love others unconditionally. I would want this new child to know that they are beautiful and wonderful and perfect just the way they are, with all of their flaws.

3. Would you break the law to save a loved one?

Knowing that my first answer to the question is, “it depends on the law needing to be broken,” I suppose I would have to say yes. I would speed to get them to the hospital on time without hesitation and to hell with whoever gets in my way. But I wouldn’t steal and I wouldn’t premeditate murder. I choose premeditate, because if someone broke into my house and threatened to kill me or my family, I would have no problem making sure they didn’t walk out of my house alive, but I consider that self defense and not even breaking the law.

4. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?

The definition of insanity is repeating the same thing over and over and expecting different results each time. It would be real easy to say that the same is true of practicing an instrument or even working on a piece of art. You repeat the same patterns, the same processes again and again and each time expect a different result from your craft. I guess that is to say, that I see creativity in a lot of life.

5. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

I read faster than anyone I know. Seriously. I read the last Harry Potter book in less than 2.5 hours. And speed reading is my normal speed. I actually have a hard time slowing down when reading. This was first discovered when my Mom sent me to my room to read a chapter book for school. I think I was supposed to read one, or maybe two, of the chapters. I came out after twenty minutes and told her I had finished. She doubted me and voiced that, especially when I indicated that I’d finished the entire book, not just the chapters assigned. So she asked me all of the comprehension questions from the book and I nailed every one. She never assigned another book to me to read, but just let me read whatever I wanted. She also never doubted me when I told her I had finished a book again.

~The Countess~

 

  1. aYou’re having lunch with three people you respect and admire.  They all start criticizing a close friend of yours, not knowing she is your friend.  The criticism is distasteful and unjustified.  What do you do?
  2. If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?
  3. Would you break the law to save a loved one?
  4. Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?
  5. What’s something you know you do differently than most people?
About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 50 Questions: Part Three

  1. You pose some really good questions. Before reading your replies I was thinking pretty much the same as you! Good luck with your blog :)

Leave a Reply

