OBB 2012: March

My goal for the first two months of the year was to not gain any weight while we were in the chaos of moving. All I had to compare was our move from Minot to Ramstein and that was a crazy time. The quick recap is as follows. We got notice of the move on 11 August, married on 17 August, packed out on 13 September, roadtripped from 14-21 September, moved into the hotel in Ramstein on 22 September, and finally moved into our home with temporary belongings on 15 October. Our actual belongings didn’t come in until 30 October. The month we spent living in hotels, we truly lived in just a hotel room. In Germany we had a mini fridge and a microwave. So we ate out. A lot. We also had to stay off base, so we took taxis more than we walked. We did buy the bikes, but shortly after that we rented a car because I needed to travel further than the distance the bike gave me.

And here we are now. This time around we got the notice of the move way back in November. And then everything sat until Valentines Day. Then everything moved so that two weeks to the day we were in Turkey. And here we are. This time around our hotel has two bedrooms, a living room and a kitchen with full fridge, oven, toaster, and coffee machine (not that we drink coffee). I have all the pots and pans I need and the commissary is only about a 5-10 minute walk. We’re on base so walking is the only option we’re willing to use. Even after the car gets here we probably won’t use it much as gas is expensive and nothing is outside of walking (or biking) distance.

The moves unsettle me a little bit. I mean, I like moving, but there’s something about not knowing anything about where you’ll be living or what you’ll be doing there that can get to you. Still, I’ve tried really hard this move to keep my feet under me. I’ve been watching my portions and trying to eat only half servings if we eat out. I walk anywhere from 5-10 miles a day and we’re going to the gym on top of that. It’s no wonder then, that I feel the best that I have in a long while.

I only brought one pair of jeans with me and thanks to the dog have figured out what a mistake that was. Even though I loathe buying clothes at the BX, I figured that I should get another pair of jeans at least to have nicer ones to put on if we went out with other people. I fit into a 6. My hips have always been my largest part, and I mean, hey I have a butt and I like it. But I’ve never worn a six in pants. It was a huge boost and a reaffirmation that eating half portions at restaurants and walking and counting the calories is all worth it.

I won’t have access to my scale until God alone knows. It’s looking like we’ll be in this hotel well into April thanks to a shortage of houses. I found one at the gym that seems to be pretty accurate, but I’m not going to use it for official weigh ins. At least, I don’t think that I will.

My goals for March are pretty simple, but here they are nonetheless.

1. Workout 5 days a week – now that we have a gym and it’s only a 5 minute walk, I want to be there at least 5 days a week to do weight lifting and cardio that goes above and beyond walking the dog.

2. Eat out only on the weekends – It’s so easy to get into the habit of just grabbing food out, and I really want to fight that trend while we’re here. We can cook, therefore I would like to because it’s so much healthier if I make it.

3. Walk the dog daily – he needs it and so do I. The more I move and the less I sit, the better it is all around.

4. Make the most of my minimal wardrobe – I moved with only 1 (now 2) pairs of jeans, 6 shirts, 3 dresses, and two skirts plus my exercise clothes. B has said I can buy more clothes, but I want to wait until I know what kind of work I’m going to be doing. And of course, I also want to maybe have all my other clothes be too big by the time they get here so that I can just buy a whole new wardrobe. Yes, I am a bad person.

OBB is supposed to be about more than just the physical and add in my emotional health as well. I feel like I’m doing well so far with this move. There’s a lot of sunshine here, so that’s helping a lot. It’s not like when we moved to Germany and I spent the whole first weekend alone (B had to fly back to the States) and in tears because of how alone I was. I am keeping close track on myself though.

Still, I really feel like this new base could be extremely good for us in so many ways. Our health is at the top of that though. Both of us are committed to eating healthier and moving more. And at least for right now, we don’t have a lot of other options.

 

Do you have any goals for March?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in OBB2012, Operation Bikini Body and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OBB 2012: March

  1. Mary says:

    Good luck with your March goals! I am looking forward to continuing to be in control of my emotional eating, and staying active. It’s warming up here (in the 70s this week!) so I want to take advantage of the sunshine and my new bike this weekend. :)

    I have the same wardrobe issues – for the longest time, I was dropping sizes so fast, it wasn’t worth it to buy too many clothes. Shirt sizes changed every other month, so why refill my closet? Just bought enough for a few weeks and rotated. But now, with 7 months at the same size, it’s been oddly frustrating. I don’t want to buy more clothes because I don’t want to stay this size; at the same time, though, I want to look as good as I can now. A good problem to have, I suppose – having to buy smaller clothes due to weight loss. But still a problem.

  2. i have been doing horrible with losing weight. i’m happy that you’ve been able to stick to your goals though!! Hopefully march works out well too!

Leave a Reply

