Discombobulated

There is so much going on that I’m having difficulties in comprehending everything, though that could be the antihistamines talking. There’s so much that I want to say, so much that I need to do, and yet, when I try to say or do things, it’s like I’m grasping at straws that are just beyond my reach. I get an idea and it’s gone before I can verbalize it. And this swirl of chaos is my life for the next few weeks. I hope that I can find coherence somewhere in all of this because I can’t imagine being stuck unable to process anything for too much longer.

Everything is progressing shockingly smoothly with our orders and the move. We will be gone from Germany in two weeks. Looking around my house right now, that’s really hard to believe and yet it is true. We leave on Friday for Switzerland and get back on Monday. On the following Thursday and Friday they will pick up all of our belongings. On the next Tuesday B and Loki will fly out. I will follow them at the end of that week. On the third Friday I will see my new home for two years. I’m excited and I’m nervous.

Life is a dance of jumping through hoops, dropping off paperwork, and finding more to sign. It’s a chaos of cleaning, planning, and knowing that we won’t have a fridge starting next Thursday. One week until I can’t cook again for who knows how long. They never can tell you how long it will take to get you a house. And then of course it’s anyone’s guess about how long it’ll be before your belongings show up.

I’m running around armed with my copy of orders and all of my power of attorney’s. I have four. A general one, one to ship our car, one to ship our belongings, and one to change our financial allotments. Crazy, no? If we lived in the States we would just need the general one. But because we’re here we have to have the fancy specific ones.

I told B last night that I don’t want to move. And I don’t. I hate this process. I just want to be in our new home. I want to magically wake up and be there without the inbetween of getting there. At least B is the one that has to navigate a commercial airport with the pup. There are no pet slots on the base to base flights for the next month. So commercial and with B he goes. That’ll be a sight. B will have the pup and his giant kennel, a carry on, plus two suitcases. And no, I won’t be there to help. They have to be at the airport at three in the morning, I love them both, but I’m not that crazy.

Anyway, dinner won’t cook itself and we are trying to eat at home every now and then. We’re out so much between saying goodbye to friends and needing to get things done that the kitchen feels abandoned. Hopefully I’ll start to make more sense soon.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Germany, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Discombobulated

  1. we are moving tomorrow. and although we are absolutely THRILLED with our new place, at the same time, I’m sad and nervous. Change is really hard for me…luckily i have eric there to rely on…

    • I get you on the mixed feelings. I thrive on change, which is lucky considering as an active duty spouse I have this move and one more before we can even think of getting out. And then he still wants to work for the government, which means moving is always in our future.

      I hope that y’all’s move goes smoothly. Take lots of before pictures of your place, always fun to see changes as you settle in.

  2. Stereo says:

    Reading this, all I could think of is that is sounds immensely stressful. You have to pat yourself on the back for handling this so well. I think I would have crumbled under it all by now. I think it’s natural to feel a little thrown for a loop by the change and the move but I have to say again that you’re handling it extremely well. I can’t wait to see and hear about your new place!

Leave a Reply

