Snow Day

It’s been a quiet weekend around here y’all. We’ve done lots of cuddling, watched four movies, and just generally spent the weekend chilling out. It was a needed respite.

The chaos surrounding our move is still there. The hang up in our orders? My address in the military system was our military mailing address. Evidently that’s not what they want. It’s supposed to be a physical address. We fixed that today and once again should have orders by the end of today. I’m not holding my breath.

I’ve been sick the whole weekend too. I swear that head colds and cramps should never be allowed at the same time. The cramps just make me want to lie down and yet I cannot breathe if I’m horizontal. Evidently I was so tired/drugged that I fell asleep while B was holding my last night and when he went to move away I kept grabbing his hand to hold on to.

Yet none of that really mattered this weekend. We ventured briefly out into the cold, but mostly just spent our time on our couch at home. We went on long, meandering walks through the snow filled woods and laughed at the antics of our silly puppy.

It wasn’t really a snow day. But that’s what it reminded me of. Not that we had many in Texas and the few we did have were really more like ice days. It was just a few days, at home, to take a break, not worry about what else is going on, and just exist together.

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about the little things. The small things in life that are the important things. Curling up and watching a movie with your husband or spending an afternoon in bed just talking and cuddling. Taking a dog for a walk. Using skype to call family back home. Sending a post card in the mail or even receiving one. Helping out a stranger, just because you’re in a place where you can. Licking the frosting out of the can after icing a cake. Laughing with friends.

The “little” people in life who are the important ones. Not celebrities. Not world events. But the everyday people and occurrences who make such a difference in my life. B, our families, friends new and old, friends far and near, my piano teacher, my lace teachers, and so many others. People who most will never know or meet. People, who to most of the world are but one person, but to some select few are the world.

I want to remember these more. Because there is happiness in the smallness of life. It’s not just in the big, grand gestures.

Life.

Liberty.

The Pursuit of Happiness.

All are big things. But they’re big things made up of smaller things. And I’m finding that the pursuit of happiness is a faster journey when you take joy in the everyday moments.

~The Countess~

Edited to Add: Our orders just came in! So happy and excited!

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

