Excitement Building

After over 2 months of waiting, we should finally have our orders by the weekend. The moving stage is finally about to begin. And I’m so, freaking, excited.This may not fully compute to you, but I was so excited that I deep cleaned my kitchen in preparation for pack out. I cannot wait to leave behind this base and move on to what lies ahead.

Turkey. A whole new country. A whole new base. A whole new experience.

This doesn’t mean that I’m not going to miss people from here. I will. Some of my students and a couple of friends will be dearly missed. I’ll miss the travel opportunities, the sushi restaurant just down the road, and the big base with a Chili’s on it. But today is not a day for being melancholy over moving. Today is the day to be excited about it happening.

I’m excited about:

~Living in a new country~ I love moving. I love new experiences and I love new places. Between this factoid and my job, I really am the perfect military wife. 2-3 years is about all the time I care to spend in any given location. I have no idea what I’ll do if we ever actually settle down in one place. Probably just travel a lot.

~Having our own home~ Okay, I know that we will just be tenants in military housing, but we will have a free standing home to ourselves for the first time ever. I actually, secretly, kind of hope we don’t get the most newly renovated of houses, that way I can get approved to paint and the like. I just want to turn a house into a home for us and we’ll have two years in it, so I’m pretty excited about picking out curtains and bathroom stuff and the like.

~Cheap furniture~ Honestly, cheap everything. Everyone has a tailor/seamstress and you can pick out patterns and fabric and just have a dress made for you. You can walk into a furniture store and show a picture from a magazine and they’ll build it for you. I fully plan on getting at least a full bedroom set and dining room chairs while we are there. And I already have a couple of dresses that need tailoring and I’ll probably get at least one made just to say that I did. We fully plan on building B’s suit wardrobe while we’re there too.

~Close Beaches~ I’m a beach girl. I’m so excited to only live 30 minutes from the Mediterranean. I’m so excited about all of the all-inclusives in the area. Yes, I fully plan to spend all my spare time lazing on a beach. At least this should cost us next to nothing. Frugal fun, my favorite.

~17-20 February~ In just over a week, B and I are going on a Swiss Alps ski trip. I cannot wait to have a weekend away with him. The skiing is a bonus. One that I’m somewhat nervous about. I haven’t skied since college, but I don’t know when I’ll ever have another chance to ski in the Alps. Totally not passing up on this.

There’s so much more. Life just went and got all exciting again. I’m thrilled to be on this crazy ride.

~The Countess~

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Excitement Building

  1. Mary says:

    Relocating is a bit scary and definitely has its tough times, but getting excited over even the little things makes it all so worth it. I’m finally feeling settled in my new city, and I think a lot of that is coming from decorating my living room. It’s a little thing, but it makes it feel more like a home.

    • We will probably be in our new house for about a month before our belongings arrive, which to me, will be good and bad. Bad because we’ll have uncomfortable loaner furniture, seriously it’s like sleeping on concrete. Good though, because I’ll have time to go find curtains and rugs, and paint and the like before our stuff comes in.

      I’m hoping that since this is our second relocation together that we’ll be a bit more at ease with it. Of course, it’s yet another new country, so there should still be plenty of anticipation.

  2. Stereo says:

    Colour me jealous, Kendra! This sounds like so much fun which is odd as we moved around so much when I was younger and I hated it. Do you know where in Turkey you’re going to be based? It’s such a beautiful country.

    • And see, we lived on the same property my entire life and my parents still live there now. I got the taste for moving between college and grad school and now I just like the fresh start it represents.

      We’ll be down in Adana, Turkey. So right near the beaches. I’m so excited to have a new country to explore.

  3. Sarah Sue says:

    woo! very excited for you kendra. i can’t wait to hear about your turkish adventures. and have fun skiing!!

    • We just went and got the skis fitted today and I’m so excited. The guys were teasing me because I was very adamant about being listed as a level 1 skier, but I didn’t care and even encouraged them to give me the shorter of the skis they were considering so that I can go slower. I’m nervous since I haven’t been in about 6 years, but excited to have one less European adventure before the move.

Leave a Reply

