50 Questions: Part 1

Questions found here.

After having seen several different bloggers answer these questions in a series of posts, I’ve decided that I want to answer them too. The goal is to do this once a week or month in groups of 5 until I’m done. The hope is to do it once a week, but with our big move looming in the near future I’m not sure if I’ll get derailed or not.

1. How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

Age is not something that is super important to me. I try to just enjoy life and not worry about doing “what I’m supposed to” for my age. That said, I like being 26. I’ve enjoyed every year of my life so far more than the last. I’m not looking to avoid aging. Even if the future terrifies me sometime, I don’t want to not experience it due to a fear of getting older. So, I guess to me, age is just a number. It doesn’t define who I am in any way shape or form.

2. Which is worse, failing or never trying?

Hands down, the answer for me is never trying. Failure is just a learning experience. But not even trying? That’s failure at the ultimate level for me. You can learn from failing, but if you never even try than you never have an option to succeed.

3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

Because we are raised with the expectations that we have to achieve certain standards during our  life time. We have to go to college, get a high paying job, have a nice house with 2.4 kids, and keep up with the Jones’. So we spend all our time working away for a “better future” while denying ourselves the right to enjoy our current life.

This is something that B and I feel quite strongly against doing. We definitely save for the future. We have no consumer debt and in less than a month should have no debt at all. But we want to enjoy our life now, while we’re young and have the opportunity to do all the awesome things that we can do. I want to live my life to the fullest and enjoy it now and in the future.

4. When it’s all said and done, will you have said more than you’ve done?

As much as I would like to hope so, the truth is that I’m a huge talker, so probably not. I try to live my life in such away that what I say matches up with how I act. I definitely want to walk the walk and not just talk the talk. But again, I’m a huge chatter box, so probably, no matter how much I do, I’ll still end up talking more. And I’m okay with this.

5. What is the one thing you’d most like to change about the world?

The unwillingness of humanity to understand, embrace, accept, and love people different than themselves. We are so hesitant of anything that is different from ourselves that we don’t take time to understand. And by not understanding we fear. In our fear we come to hate and loathe. And born from that is our desire to destroy. How much better to love rather than hate.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 50 Questions: Part 1

  1. Mary says:

    I love those questions. I am semi-kinda-sorta planning a huge European adventure this summer and want to bring a decorated notebook to record my travel thoughts – these prompts definitely inspire me!

  2. Stereo says:

    Number 5. Oh my God, number 5. Just know that if you were standing in front of me right now, I would be high-fiving you in solidarity. I also have to agree with you on number 2 and continue to remind myself of this every time I shy away from something for fear of failure. Life lessons.

  3. I think your choosing happy is a great accomplishment, and it’s good you’re trying to at least get some light exercise and eat healthy because i know that has a major impace on my mood. Keep choosing happy!

Leave a Reply

