A Christmas Meme

I stole this from Stephany and her Christmas Week posts. It looked like fun and I wanted to join in and add some Holiday cheer to the blog. We leave early tomorrow morning for Michigan, but never fear I will have both my iPhone and my laptop with me, so I will check in. I am rather anxious about this holiday season and I’m ready for that to pass.

our little Christmas tree

1. The Christmas song I can even listen to in June is…
Carol of the Bells by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra. But that’s about it. I don’t mind playing Christmas music; I delight in teaching my students Christmas music as soon as November hits; but, I really don’t like listening to it at all. I’m such a Scrooge.

2. Hot chocolate, egg nog, or mulled wine?
Yes please. I adore hot chocolate, especially if you add in some peppermint schnapps; egg nog is good with the addition of amaretto, though recently I’ve found it to be too sweet for me to have more than a glass a year; and mhmm, mulled wine. In Germany it’s called Gluhwein and is served in cute little mugs at all the Weinnachtsmarkt’s throughout the country.

3. When do you put your decorations up?
Traditionally my family always did the weekend after Thanksgiving. I’m still trying to figure out what works for us as a couple. Last year we spent Christmas day packing to go to the States and this year we’ll be in the States. I did put up our tree and decorations both years though. Last year B helped and this year I did it on our 2 year dating anniversary while he was at a party. Ideally we’d do it together, but I have to let B be B and not care too much for those things.

4. What are you having for Christmas dinner?
I think we may be doing the Texas tradition of tamales and chili con queso with B’s family. If not, it may be coconut shrimp. I think the only traditional part of their dinner is that it’s never the same. My family always did the tamales on Christmas Eve and just snack foods on Christmas day.

5. What’s your favorite Christmas tradition?
For as long as I can remember, my family has put together a puzzle on Christmas Eve. We would start it while watching A Christmas Carol (Patrick Stewart, George C Scott, or the Muppets). We had to finish it by “dinner” on the 25th so that we could use the table for desserts. I loved working over the puzzle with my Mom and Aunt. This is the first year that I can remember that I won’t be there to put a puzzle together with them. (Myobi, if you’re reading no spoiling Mom and Dad) But, I found a way to be there by sending them this year’s puzzle. They’re supposed to unwrap it on Christmas Eve. Though maybe I should have them open it earlier just in case they start the puzzle earlier…hmmm…decisions.

6. Have you ever gone carol singing?
Many times. I’ve gone to nursing homes and played violin and sang. I’ve ridden on boats around the Riverwalk and played violin. I’ve even gone to banks and played the piano in the lobbies over lunch hours. I love to share music with people.

7. When did you discover the truth about Santa?
I don’t remember how old I was. I do remember my sister and I approaching our Mom together. And she told us that while Santa isn’t a real person, that the Spirit of Santa, that is the Spirit of Love and Giving lives inside every one of us. She told us that as long as we believed in that there would always be gifts under the tree. I also remember being so grown up to help perpetuate the Santa story to my baby brother.

8. How do you decorate your Christmas tree?
I get it out of the  box and set up, unwrap the ornaments and hang them? This year I rocked some angry girl country songs and chatted on Skype with my brother while we went about it. My Aunt has made me an ornament every year going back a long ways and I always hang her ornaments first so that they get the “best” spots. B and I still don’t have enough ornaments to fill the tree, so the back quarter of it is empty.

9. What’s the best thing about Christmas?
Being with the people that I love. Do you know I’ve never cared much for getting gifts? I love giving them, but I could go through Christmas and not get a single thing and still be happy. I want to see family and friends. I want to be with people that I love and that love me. I want to laugh, cry, and share life with them. I want to take the time to pause and remember the reason for the season.

10. All I want for Christmas is…
To be with loved ones. See above. Maybe it’s living on the other side of the world from everyone. Maybe it’s knowing that we’re moving even farther away. But I want to spend the holidays surrounded by people who love us. And I’m crazy grateful to get to spend the holidays with B.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

