Thankful Thursdays: Turkey Edition

Life's Journey with a SmileAmy mentioned in her post today that she didn’t realize that she’d lined up this series to fall on the American Thanksgiving holiday. Me being one of those self-centered Americans, I just thought she was doing it on purpose. Regardless, Happy Thanksgiving to my American friends and Happy Thankful Thursday to everyone else.

Living in Germany for my second Thanksgiving, I have to say that it gives a different spin on the holiday than living in the US. It’s not a German holiday of course, so that means that everything is still open and nothing really changes. Even for our school kids they had school up through yesterday. I’m sure that any children in the German schools would still have school today. It’s hard to keep the meaning of the holiday when you’re isolated in celebrating it.

B and I hosted a big rib dinner last night with some good friends and that was our Thanksgiving celebration. Today we just went and had a nice sushi lunch. Beyond that? B is scouring the internet for good deals. (Not that I’m exempt, I’m just taking advantage of the ones popping up in my inbox and not looking for many more.)

Today I’m thankful for the friends who came over last night. I’m thankful we’ve finally meshed into a group, even if it is right before we leave.

I’m thankful for our move to Turkey. This is totally selfish, especially as a military wife, but I’m so, so grateful that this move means that B can’t deploy. I’m so excited at getting reunited with dear friends from a previous base. I’m thankful for the opportunities that come with moving there and the chance to explore another culture.

I’m thankful that I’ve gone from a small-town Texan to a girl who’s seen most of Europe and is moving to her third country to live.

I’m thankful for family back home who are super supportive of us and our moves. I’m thankful for their love and encouragement as I move further away.

I’m thankful that my Mom found my immunization records –  buried in a box in a closet – so that I don’t have to go get a bunch of boosters before we move.

I’m thankful for an awesome husband to make this move with – someone who’s as excited about the new and the challenging as I am. Also, I’m totally thankful that he doesn’t shove me off the bed when I burrow my cold feet into his legs for warmth.

What are you thankful for today?

~The Countess~

 

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

