Thankful Thursdays: Life and Friends Edition

Today I am thankful for my life. I am thankful, still, for those who serve and risk their lives so that I can live a life filled with choices and possibilities and freedoms. I am thankful for every day that I wake up and have another chance to make a difference in the world. I am thankful for the desire to keep living no matter what life throws at us.

We lost a friend this last week to suicide. He was a loner, a quiet guy, sort of odd, and hard to get to know. But he was a good man. Things evidently became too much for him last week and he ended it all. I keep wondering if he reached out to people. It took a couple of days for me to quit using “what ifs” on the situation. Because I just hurt that he was in such a state that he felt like his only option was death.

If someone tells you they’re lonely. Listen. Reach out to them. Be there.

If someone tells you they’re hurting. Listen. Reach out to them. Be there.

Don’t just blow them off. Don’t think they’re just in a funk.

Today I am thankful for the friends I have who have listened when I’ve said I was lonely. I am thankful for the friends that email me, call me, facebook me, and tweet me. I’m thankful for the friends who hear loneliness and offer friendship. I’m thankful for friends who hear pain and offer comfort.

Real life friends or blog friends, you’ve made a difference in my life. And while suicide has never and will never be an option for me, it means a lot to me to know that you’re all there, willing to reach out and lend an ear (an eye?) to my story. Thank you.

Today, I’m thankful for each and every one of you.

~The Countess~

 

Life's Journey with a Smile

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful Thursdays: Life and Friends Edition

  1. MJ says:

    I’m thankful for you! I like that you get it.

  2. Mary says:

    Very sorry for your loss. When I was very young, I lost an uncle to suicide. It’s a permanent solution to temporary problems, and if there’s any good from the situation, it’s that the legacy that most suicides leave is that we need to let the people around us know that they are unconditionally loved and supported, always.

Leave a Reply

