Up in the Air No More

Remember how I mentioned in earlier today that everything was up in the air and it was stressing me out? So, yeah, here’s my update on that.

As of this past Friday, B was released from his special program. It meant a return to working security forces for the USAF. It meant a return to the looming possibility of deployment and a certain major change to our every day lives. We just didn’t know how major.

In my naivete, I figured since the AF just spent a lot of money to move us from Minot to Germany just last year that they would leave us here. I knew it could mean that B would deploy sooner in order to wait for a slot  to open up.

Just last night one of B’s good friends from Minot called us. He mentioned that there weren’t any spots open in Germany at all. And that he (the friend) would be going to Turkey for a short tour. B mentioned that joining him would be fun but that the chances of that were less than one percent.

Hi, we’re the one percent.

Yep, just over a year after frantically getting ready to move to Germany we are now frantically getting ready to move to Turkey. Only it isn’t so frantic since we don’t have the orders yet.

It’s nice to know where we’re going. It’s nice to know that B cannot deploy while we’re there.

All I really know so far is that we’re going. Our friend will be there with us. We can take Loki. I have to sell my car (but this is kind of a plus as we’ll use the money to pay off my student loans). We will be living on base.

And that’s it. Exact dates, specific details, all of that will have to wait. But at least now we know.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Germany, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Up in the Air No More

  1. Mary says:

    Moving is scary but exciting – Turkey is a fascinating country, my uncle was in the Air Force and he was stationed there for a while in the 90s. Can’t wait to hear about this new journey!

    • I’m mostly excited. The scary part of moving here was not knowing if I could go at the same time as B. That shouldn’t be an issue this time. Just a lot to do in an unknown amount of time. Another friend who got released from the same program will be gone in a month. It’s insane. But awesome.

Leave a Reply

