Fire Up For Fall: Week Nine

I can’t believe that the end of this challenge is looming. I first joined in on the challenges during the Spring Fever challenge and it’s just crazy to think that we’ve come all the way to Fall already. It’s been another crazy week here at Chateau D. B returns to regular duty tomorrow, pending phone calls this afternoon to find out exactly what will be happening to us. Ever since we moved here last year, I just assumed that his return to regular duty would leave us at our current base. Now it’s sounding like that isn’t the likeliest possibility. I’ll know more after he makes his calls this afternoon, but the possibility of moving again is quite strong. Anyway, whether we stay here or move, change is once again looming large on our horizon. Until then though, we’ll just hurry up and wait.

1. What have you done this week towards your goals?

a. Do at least one random act of kindness a week.  Another check for this one! Last week, MJ asked about my RAK’s. They haven’t been big things, mostly I’ve been reaching out to people. One week it was including the wife of one of B’s coworkers in a group dinner. The husband was out of the country and she’d just had a kid so I invited her to dinner. Another week it was taking the time to listen to a girl I had just met talk through her pending divorce. Another week was reaching out to a girl at the gym. So, they aren’t big things by any means, just little things to help add some positivity to the universe.

b. Lose 8 lbs – that’s just one lb a week for the remainder of the challenge. So, after I talked all of last week about not trying to lose anymore…I dropped 2 pounds to this week. That’s probably mostly the disappearance of Aunt Flo. Still, I’m at 8 of 8 for pounds lost this challenge. It feels good to meet my goal on this one. I’m still not quite sure where my weight loss will lead me. I think I’m in the still trying just not actively trying stage. I wouldn’t mind weighing less, but I’m at a good weight for my body so I’m confused. I’m just going to keep eating healthy and try to get back into going to the gym regularly. Where things go from there, I’ll just have to see.

c. Practice piano at least 3 times a week. Don’t tell anyone…but I totally started practicing Christmas music this week. I’m getting all of my students to start playing some Christmas songs and just taking the time to enjoy this time of year musically.

d. Read 15 books Well, I re-started Harry Potter last night and read most of the first while B was on the phone, but that was it. I’m not sure what’s happened. It may be having added in students and increasing my work load. I think it’s mainly been spending the evenings playing video games with B and afternoons are dominated by the puppy. I’m sad to not make this goal, but I’ll keep working towards adding a few more books before next Monday.

e. Plan at least one date event with B each week.  This one has been going well. We’ve both gotten better at spending concentrated time together. He doesn’t even know that this is a goal of mine, but, it’s an important one to me. Just my focusing on us having time together has yielded positive results. Never get complacent in your relationships. They all have to be nourished in order to thrive.
2. What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous?

I got a hair cut on Friday. I used to be so adventurous with my hair. In college, whenever I was blue I’d just go get it all chopped off. This lead to more than one regretted hair cut, but was totally worth it because I never feared getting my hair cut. I’ve also always been a “it’s my hair I’ll do what I want with it” kind of girl. Until I met B. For the first 8 months of our relationship I made sure to keep my hair the same length, style, and color that it had been when I met him. Then I dyed my hair back to my natural color and he almost didn’t recognize me. Most of my hair cuts since I met him involved a trim that he didn’t even recognize as a cut. On Friday, I went and chopped it back into a layered bob. Where it’s been just past shoulder length for the last two years, it’s now swinging above my shoulders again.  I love it.
3. What is the most positive thing you’ve taken away from this challenge?

Adding positivity to my life and others. Reaching out to these random girls has mostly yielded no fruit. Even though they said they’d contact me, I’ve never heard from the gym girl or the divorce girl again. And that’s okay. With B’s coworker’s wife though, we’ve actually started to become friends. From one simple dinner invite, we’ve gone to having dinner as couples at least twice a week. I just wish I had reached out earlier.
4. It’s your last week, the run to the finish, what is your priority?

Staying sane. There are so many what-ifs floating around us right now that I’m having a hard time doing basic daily things. I just want to curl up in a ball until it’s all over. As far as my goals go, I want to just keep trying my best with all of them.
5. Fun Stuff: Desert Island, you can take 1 person, 1 famous person and 3 items besides food and water. Who and What do you take?

Of course I would take B. There’s no one else I’d rather be stranded with. I’m not a big celebrity person, but I’d totally take one of the Voltaggio brothers to cook all of my meals. Yummy food and good eye candy? Yes please. My three items would include our puppy, a solar powered kindle so we could read, and a hammock. I’m a pretty simple girl in some ways.

I hope you all have a great week. This next week will hopefully hold some good answers for our near future. I hope it does anyway. I’m ready to know something is going to be constant besides not knowing. My positive picture for this week is from last year’s trip to Grand Rapids right after we got married. Things were as uncertain then as they are now and we made it through splendidly.

B and I on a giant tire swing in Grand Rapids

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Fire Up for Fall and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fire Up For Fall: Week Nine

  1. Jeniffer says:

    Shhhh! Don’t tell anyone, but I’ve been thinking of Christmas music for about two weeks now! LOL
    the same songs–Frosty The Snowman, and Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer–refuse to leave my mind! I don’t play an instrument, so I have been driving my kids crazy singing them in the truck! Hahaha! But we’ll keep this Christmas chorus our little secret. Shhh! :-D

  2. Becks says:

    I may have made a Christmas mix cd this week.

  3. Tim says:

    Great picture of you both.

    Love your answers for the desert island! :)

  4. Mary says:

    Mmm, a hammock is a great idea! Great job on the weight loss goal!

  5. I am such a Harry Potter nerd! Maybe I should start the series over again too! Great job on the weight loss!

Leave a Reply

