Fire Up for Fall: Week Eight

Well this last weekend was an amazingly busy one for Chateau D. We played hard. Saturday was a sushi lunch followed by B’s handball game that was followed by a late night dinner at the only German restaurant still open in our little village. (We’re so provincial, everything is closed up tight by 10pm on a Saturday) Sunday was sleeping in, even if some of it had to be on the couch after the dog woke us up, a pool showdown between B and I, my rugby boyfriend’s rugby game followed by dinner and drinks with said rugby boyfriend. (I promise that isn’t as weird as it sounds. Our good friend Cap plays rugby and he called B and asked if I’d be his “rugby girlfriend”  and wear his support shirt.)

Anyway, life is really good right now. On to FUFF 8! I can’t believe how quickly the weeks fly by.

1. What have you done this week to work towards your goals?

a. Do at least one random act of kindness a week.  Checkers! This has been the most fun part of the challenge and has helped me totally change my attitude about being out here. I’m also seeing more friendships start to blossom from this.

b. Lose 8 lbs – that’s just one lb a week for the remainder of the challenge. No loss this week. It’s (finally) my TOM, only 2 weeks late. That made for a nice scare. Friday night I sat at home and contemplated going to by a HPT for close to three hours. Decided I would if I didn’t start Sunday, thankfully, I started Sunday. I’m also not sure if I want to lose any more weight. I’m down 17 pounds overall since July and back to 155 which was the weight I entered college at. It’s on the lower end of health BMI for my height and I think I may switch to focusing on toning up again (guess who hasn’t been to the gym regularly since this challenge started?). So I may happily stop this goal at 6 of 8 lbs lost. Of course, I may decide to keep going, I haven’t decided yet.

c. Practice piano at least 3 times a week. I think I managed it. It wasn’t a good week for it. I was so hormonal that I just sat on my couch and played on Pinterest on my laptop. That site is my new addiction. Seriously, I’m texancountess on there and would love to follow you and inundate you with recipes that I’m trying.

d. Read 15 books I started two books this week. One I’m still planning on reading, I just got side tracked ( The Dark Mirror by Juliet Marillier) and one I’m completely skipping (The Piano Teacher) because the two main girls were so flighty and inane that they made me want to cry. So, still at 7 of 15 read for this challenge. Unless a miracle occurs (and it might since I’m hormonal and don’t want to move right now) I don’t think there’s any way I can make this goal. I’m still going to try.

e. Plan at least one date event with B each week.  Check again. It’s been really awesome to focus on us, even if it’s nothing more than running up to base to play nine ball. We always play best of seven, if we’re at 3-3 after the first six than we place wagers on the outcome. If one of us is stomping the other so that there is no need to bet, then the winner gets to claim a prize. I won 4-0 on Friday, and 4-2 on Sunday and still have both my prizes to claim. They’ll be good ones, I promise.
  2. What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous?

I quit caring about what a certain couple thinks about B and I. They were people we were working hard at becoming really good friends with when that imploded in our faces (I’ve posted about it before). It recently came out from another friend that they talk negatively about us enough that people we don’t even know, know us as the couple that “Jack and Jill” hate. We’ve actually not talked a lot about the situation (unless asked by people who know both sets of us, and there we’ve been totally honest from the beginning. I’m not going to lie to protect a couple that’s happy to slander me.) with our own friends. We had to be at the same event supporting a friend (the rugby game) as this couple on Sunday. I have been dreading it for the last two weeks. It was a total non event. We were the first ones there and everyone else in the group (some 10-15 people) organized themselves around us and Jack and Jill were the last ones there. They snuck in after halftime and hid in the back corner of the group and never even came close to approaching us. It was awesome to know that we don’t have to avoid them because they will avoid us. It’s just such a relief for me to quit caring. That may sound odd, but for me, it’s the nicest thing I’ve done for myself in a long time.
  3. How important is a social life to you? Are you a loner or a butterfly or somewhere in between?

I probably qualify for someone in between. Like, I don’t flit from person to person or know everyone in the bar. But a social life is super critical for me. I am one of those people who unwinds and recharges by spending time with other people. Crappy day at work? I’d rather go home and cook a meal and entertain friends than eat take out and be by myself. Spending time with friends relaxes me and makes me feel more ready to tackle the next obstacle on my course. It’s been interesting balancing that being married, because B is much more of a loner/stay at home type than I am. Not that he’s much of one, I’m just such an extrovert that everyone looks introverted and homebody-ish next to me.
  4. How do you balance life outside your home with healthy living?

I try to make good choices. But I refuse to stress about it. This weekend included eating out at both lunch and dinner on both Saturday and Sunday. I chose beforehand not to worry about the calorie count and I knew that exercise wasn’t going to happen because of the hectic schedule. It just means that during the week I’ll eat a bit cleaner and definitely try to get back into going to the gym. I do still use portion control though. I try to eat no more than I should and sometimes even less than I might want. It’s worked well for me. Like I said above though, the mental health boost from spending time with friends is much more important to my well-being than staying at home and eating a salad.
  5. What do you like to do for fun?

It’d be easier to answer the opposite of this. If I had to pick one activity though? It’d be going to sporting events. Now, y’all, I’m not at all athletic. B’s been trying to teach me racquetball for over a year now and I’m still likely to hit myself in the head with the racket once a game. But I love sports. Baseball, basketball, football (American), handball, rugby, if there’s a live event that I can go to, I will. I like to cheer, take pictures, heckle the other players, and explain the rules to newcomers. Indoors, outdoors, it doesn’t matter. I just like cheering on the athletes and spending my time in good company.

Positive Picture:

loki, the lap dog

It’s shaping up to be a good week here. Not quite as much going on this weekend, I think, though there’s still quite a bit that we’ll be doing. I’m hoping to knock out a few more books to at least get over ten books. Actually, that’s my goal, three books by the end of this week.

Hope everyone has a great week!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Fire Up for Fall and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fire Up for Fall: Week Eight

  1. Everyone is talking about this pinterest and I fear looking into it cause I just don’t have time for another internet obsession since I barley have time for blogging anymore. It sounds great though, I have seen some peoples pins… or whatever they’d be called. Sounds like you’ve got things under control and are doing great. I was trying to read 100 books in a year, which I actually stated a couple months ago so it’s not Jan-Dec, and I’m only at 15 but a few were short stories. I wish I was a quicker reader and had more time for it. Good luck on making your goals! Oh and do stop in for my Monday post if you want to see the A recipe:-) B’s will be on Thursday:-)

  2. MJ says:

    Glad it is finally your TOM, the pup is probably plenty for you two right now! I’m so intrigued by your good deeds you’re doing on the sly. You’re putting me to shame because I can’t even eek out the ONE I have as my goal for the whole 10 weeks! I’m also now intrigued if you have a drawl and truly say things like y’all, Miss Texas!

  3. Tim says:

    The dog looks so cute!!!!!! I want Loki!!!!

Leave a Reply

