Thankful Thursdays: Family Edition

There’s a part of me that just wanted to skip today. That just wanted to bury my head in the ground and go back to sleep until winter was over.  That didn’t want to think at all about being grateful. But in the typical manner of how my life goes, whenever I’m feeling down or blue I find someone who has more reason to complain than I do and instead they’re showing gratitude for what they do have. Today’s version of that included a friend’s post on facebook about going to say goodbye to her Dad who is losing his battle with cancer. Talk about the gentle two-by-four to the head. I have so much to be thankful for. So, even if I’m not feeling it, I’m going to choose to feel it anyway.

 Life's Journey with a Smile

Today I am thankful for:

1. My parents and that they still have their health

I have always been so lucky to have a fabulous relationship with my parents. They’ve always been so supportive of me and all of my endeavors.

2. My siblings and that we all get along

Sure, we have our ups and downs like all siblings, but for the most part we’re a fun, loving group. We’re separated all around the globe now, but we stay in touch via facebook, skype, and video games. Hey, it works for us. (In the photo above it’s my baby brother, me, big sis 1 plus her new husband, and big sis 2)

3. My fabulous in-laws

I do not have the MIL from hell. I actually have amazingly fabulous in-laws. They’re as relaxed and quirky as my family. And yes, very dedicated to their country. The above photo was taken when my husband administered the Oath of Office to both his younger brothers as they were commissioned into the USAF. I was always worried about in-law relations having witnessed the strife it caused in my own family, but I’ve been truly blessed to have joined such a great family. (In the above photo: mom and dad D are sitting down, Thing 2 and his now fiancee, me and B, B’s big sis, Thing 1 and his girlfriend)

Family has always been important to me. And now, with all of us so spread out (my family is in Texas, New Mexico, Washington, and of course Germany; B’s family is in Michigan, Virginia, and Texas) they’re even more important. Our families mean the world to me.

What are you thankful for today?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Thankful Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

