Fire Up For Fall: Week Six

After an emotionally rough weekend, I’m looking forward to some normality this week. I’m glad I have FUFF to help me focus through the week.

1. What have you done to achieve your goals this week?

. Do at least one random act of kindness a week. Check!

b. Lose 8 lbs – that’s just one lb a week for the remainder of the challenge. Down another .5 this week for a total of 4.5 for the challenge. I’ve seen lower numbers all week, but TOM is knocking at my door, so I’m pleased to have any loss to report at all.

c. Practice piano at least 3 times a week. Check! The puppy is no longer as terrified of the piano as he was.

d. Read 15 books Still 5 of 15. I don’t think I’m going to make this one. My reading desire has all but fled. We’ll see how this week goes.

e. Plan at least one date event with B each week. Check! We did a dinner date on Wednesday and then an at home dinner and movie date on Friday.
2. What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous?

I let myself sleep in this weekend. The puppy has been getting us up earlier than we are used to getting up. So it was nice to sleep in and not worry about it.
3. Do you listen to music when you work out? What gets you fired up?

Sometimes I do. I hate the feeling of having ear buds in my ears. But it only seems to bother me if I’m working out indoors. I don’t actually care if the music “fires me up” or not as any music provides a distraction for me. Some of my favorite albums are Christopher O’Reilly’s True Love Waits and Hold Me To This – both piano arrangements of Radiohead, and Mumford and Sons Sigh No More. I listen to a lot of Irish traditional music too. Every now and then, I’ll even listen to a bit of pop or rock.

4. What’s your guilty pleasure music? How does it make you feel?

Country music hands down. When I was training as a classical musician, pop/rock could be tolerated  but country music was for the uneducated masses and to be avoided. Yes, I was a huge music snob. I really never listened to anything but classical or traditional music until I was in grad school. That’s when I started listening to country (really more like Southern Rock, I still can’t stand the twangy, whiny songs) and found that I like songs that are easy to sing along to and easy to get.

5. If today were a song what song would it be?

The above is probably my favorite String Quartet of all time. And this movement is my favorite. But the whole thing is fabulous. It’s the perfect song for a cold and cloudy day.

Positive Picture:

early morning fog on the alpsee

I’m not normally a fog and dreary day kind of girl, but I’m embracing that right now. I am however a sad song kind of girl, all the time. So if you ever need a melancholy song, give me a shout and I’ll share some of my favorites.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Fire Up for Fall and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fire Up For Fall: Week Six

  1. Mary says:

    I hate ear buds too! I have earphones that clip onto the outside of my ear so I can wear one and hook one to my shirt (to be aware of what’s going on around me). And melancholy music – love. I listen to the Magnetic Fields a lot, and sometimes have to force myself to stop because their sadness can get to me!

  2. Lisa says:

    Darn those critters who wake you up too early! I have 3 cats & a dog, so it’s been known to happen.

    Your photo is beautiful!

  3. I love Radiohead, I should check out those those albums. Combining piano and Radiohead sounds like a really good mixture! I hope your week goes better than your weekend!

  4. Kris says:

    I struggle with earbuds too – I seem to have small ears, and most are too big and hurt! I’ve gone through many pairs looking for ones I don’t hate!

    LOL @ country music… I too like a little country, but shhhh, I won’t tell if you don’t! ;)

Leave a Reply

