Fire Up For Fall: Week Four

Hey everyone! I hope you’ve all had great weeks. Fall is truly arrived here in Germany. Our average temperatures this last weekend were in the low 50s and upper 40s. Brrrr.

1. What have you done this week to achieve your goals?

a. Do at least one random act of kindness a week. Check!

b. Lose 8 lbs – that’s just one lb a week for the remainder of the challenge. Down 1.5 this week for 2.5 of 8 lost so far.

c. Practice piano at least 3 times a week. I played twice this week, B started studying for the GMAT, so I curtailed my practicing to give him so quiet.

d. Read 15 books I’m still at 5 of 15. But we’re going on a bus trip *hopefully* this weekend that would afford quite a bit of time to read.

e. Plan at least one date event with B each week. Oh so successful this week. We did dinner and a movie at home. We’ve also worked more on spending constructive time together every evening. Amazing.
2. What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous?

I did two things this week. First, I took this weekend as a guilt-free weekend. Yes, I still logged my calories, but I didn’t worry about working out or staying under my calorie goals. And I still had a loss this week. I needed the chance to go eat some food that tasted good without worrying about where it was going. I’m so glad I did. Second, I bought some make up and some clothes today. I tend to feel very guilty about spending money, which I think I’ll blog about soon. So to go out and buy things that I want and need without feeling the need to apologize is an awesome accomplishment for me.
3. What is your go to food or activity when you’ve had a bad day?

My go-to food used to be Whataburger. It’s a Texas staple and was always what I wanted when I was PMSing or sick. My comfort foods range from banana bread or hamburgers to sushi, it really just depends on my day. I don’t really use food to cheer myself up though, that’s what my husband is for. My favorite go to activity is to either go to the gym or to go cuddle with my husband. There are no ills in this world that his hugs cannot fix.
4. What’s the last thing you did that you were really proud of?

Pride is an interesting thing. I am proud of myself for getting started on having all my finances tax ready (I’m self-employed and paid in cash so this is a pretty big deal.), I’m proud of myself for shopping without feeling guilty. I’m proud of myself for the 13.5 pounds that I’ve lost since July. I’m proud of myself for sleeping on our last flight back from the US to Germany. I’m proud of myself for standing up for myself. They’re all little things, but, these everyday choices are majorly contributing to my over all happiness, and I’m inordinately proud of that.
5. Fun Time:  What was your favorite school subject, and your least favorite? Why?

My least favorite subjects in school were Geometry and Science. Geometry I hands down hated. I was good at it, but I found it to be a waste of time. I couldn’t stand having to write out proofs that had already been proven. It seemed useless to me. And Sciences were just always boring to me, what can I say, I’m a humanities girl. Speaking of that, my favorite subjects were music, history, and music history. I actually have my Masters Degree in Historical Musicology.

Positive Picture

me with my three sibs and the newest husband in the family

Here’s to a great week for all of us!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Fire Up for Fall and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fire Up For Fall: Week Four

  1. Becks says:

    I love that you recognise how important the seemingly small decisions are all big ones really because they create positive change. Very inspirational.

  2. PlumPetals says:

    Looks like you had a great week this week :) Awesome!!

  3. Stereo says:

    I think I might have to join you in these challenges; you’re always so positive during them and more often than not, you achieve all your goals! Inspirational.

Leave a Reply

