Svelte

It’s a word, that to me conjures up images of movie stars, Jessica Rabbit, and models. Slender and elegant is it’s standard definition. It’s a step above slender and a far cry from skinny. Maybe it’s what I’ve always wanted to be.

I have a strong memory of sitting in Sunday School next to my sister as a child. We were still attending the Presbyterian church in my home town, so it was before highschool. Likely it was somewhere between my 12th and 13th year. The year that I shot up like a weed. I went from being a half inch shorter than my sister to three-quarters of an inch taller than her in just one week. Can we say awkward much? One of the ladies of our church (yes I remember her name, no I’m not using it here) came up to us. She told my sister how she was just growing more lovely and that she was going to be such a beautiful, lady-like, etc, woman. Then she looked at me and told me that I was going to be so tall and gangly.

It stuck.

Yesterday though, a comment was made that lifted my day. I was sitting at a piano helping a highschool student with his work. His Mom, one of my favorites, breezed in from her job to pay me and take the younger sister to dance. She’s always put together, always sweet, the kind of Mom that I want to be if I ever decide to become a Mom. And she looked at me and said, “You look great. You’ve gotten so svelte. Not that you weren’t before, but now…” I think I could have touched the moon I felt so great right then. Thanks to her being busy and then sick and then busy, I actually haven’t seen her since early August. So, she’s seeing me with most of the weight difference.

I won’t lie. I’ve been waiting for someone to notice. Waiting for someone to say something. B tells me all the time how great I look, but I was waiting for someone who didn’t know to comment that I looked slimmer, healthier. Never did I dream that I would get svelte. It’s my new happy word for myself. And it’s bolstered the knowledge inside me that the me I’m fighting to become is the me that I want to be.

Tall and gangly svelte. And happy as can be.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, Operation Bikini Body and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Svelte

  1. Mary says:

    Svelte is such a great, underused word. There aren’t too many awesome women’s body words, I think – so many of them have a subtle negative connotation, both on the big and little side of the spectrum. Svelte is perfect, though – I think perhaps because it conveys an attitude, not just a physical body. Jessica Rabbit is spot-on, haha.

  2. Stereo says:

    You’ve earned it, darling.

  3. I’m up late blogging and decided I’m come to your page to see what has been on your mind.

    Svelte? That’s great and all but I think you are something even better. Sexy!

    So here’s to my sassy, sweet, smart, sexy, svelte, sensational, successful, skinny, sociable, spicy, silly, sultry sister! I love you, babe!

Leave a Reply

