Fire Up For Fall: Week Three

Happy Monday Friends! It’s going to be a quiet one here at the Countess’ Castle today. We had major jet lag induced insomnia combined with an early morning for B. So, he’s sleeping it off and I’m going to go teach. Fun times. Anyway, I have noticed that I dread Mondays less thanks to having these challenges to post and read responses on. Have any of you noticed the same?

1. What have you done this week to help get to your goals?

a. Do at least one random act of kindness a week. Check!

b. Lose 8 lbs – that’s just one lb a week for the remainder of the challenge. 1 of 8 lost!

c. Practice piano at least 3 times a week. Check! Expanded my repertoire this week. Added some Prokofiev and Chopin to my Hindemith.

d. Read 15 books. Still at 5 of 15. But I made progress in the really big one that I’m working my way through.

e. Plan at least one date event with B each week. Check! We went and played pool together on Saturday afternoon.
  2. What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous?

I stuck with my eating goals and lost a pound. I’ve heard the quote before that, “Nothing tastes as good as _____ feels.” But I’ve never felt it’s power until this weekend.
  3. Where do you see yourself in 5 years? What are your goals? Ambitions?

In Five years? I see myself putting B through law school. I see us back in the States with no debt and significant savings accounts. My goals for the next few years are to:

1. Pay off all our debt and start IRAs.

2. Buy a grand piano.

Other than that? I’m already living out my dream job and I just want to support B and get him into his.
  4. Give us a tip or a fact. About anything, what is something great you’ve heard that everyone should know?

When you’re in a relationship with anyone, always talk about things before they become a big problem. So, when you’re in that stage of annoyed that you know will lead to anger or frustration, mention the issue then. You’re more likely to be calm and fair about it, which will make them more receptive to what you have to say.

Other than that, if you’re ever learning or teaching piano and want advice, ask away. Or if you’re trying to get command sponsership in the USAF on really short notice and with a tight time schedule, I’ve got that one down pat.
  5. Fun Question: What was your most recent dream that you can remember?

I normally remember all of my dreams. It is strange for me to wake up and not remember dreaming, but that’s what happened this morning. I’m the kind of person who has recurring dreams. So, I’ll dream the same situation over and over again. Not just the general topic or subject matter, but the specific details too. Which was cool when I was a kid and started having the same nightmares, because then I would realize I was in a nightmare and I wouldn’t let the bad things happen. I’d kind of just pause my dream and reset it and make it have a happy, non-scary ending. That awareness that I’m dreaming comes and goes, but always if the dream has a darker tone.

Positive Picture

yes please!

Well, I hope you all have a great start to your weeks!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Fire Up for Fall and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fire Up For Fall: Week Three

  1. PlumPetals says:

    Hi :) Stopping by from Fire up for fall :)
    I like your tip for this week — it’s something I know, but still need to practice quite a bit. I tend to hold things in and then suffer the consequences!

  2. Becks says:

    You are rocking this challenge already :)

  3. Mary Jo says:

    Great relationship advice! Thumbs up on dropping a pound this week – keep up the hard work!

  4. Mary says:

    I used to be able to control my dreams when I was a kid, too – I thought it made me superpowerful. I miss dreaming as vividly as I used to, though I’m not willing to regain the weight that I know strongly affected it!

  5. Shiny says:

    Weight makes you dream more??

    Congrats, K! You’re kicking this! I’m curious about the big book’s title…:-)

    Miss you…
    M

Leave a Reply

