Letters To Parents

Disclaimer: I know I’m not a parent and at the rate of watching the way so many parents act around their kids, I may never be one. So, take this with a grain of salt, y’all. I’ve just finally had enough.

Dear Mom at Chili’s,

Please don’t ignore your 5 year old while he runs around jumping on everything and hitting everyone. And seriously, if you can ignore him, don’t ask his teenage siblings to take care of him. I hate hearing a parent tell a teenager that they are responsible for their brother or sister. Especially when the parent is right there. Your conversation with your friend is not more important than your tantrum-throwing kindergartener. And your 15 year old son is not the one who had sex and got pregnant with the brat in the first place. He’s not the parent. You are. Try and remember that and act like it. The rest of us patrons would appreciate it enormously.

 

Dear Toddler Mom at the Mall,

Isn’t it cute how  your child is starting to walk and run away from you? Isn’t it just adorable when she pulls away and runs straight into a crowd of adults making them all struggle to not run over her or drop their food? Oh wait, nope, that isn’t cute or adorable at all. The place for your child to run around is not a crowded mall. For heaven’s sake, your husband was pushing an empty stroller. If you can’t hold on to the darling child, than strap her in. No one wants to play dodge the baby with your child.

 

Dear Dad Driving the Honda Odessy,

Now, I know you’re much more important than us mere mortals, I do. At least, you must be since you decided to cut a line of 6 cars and 2 motorcycles to get gas first. I know that waiting in line is annoying. Especially when you think there may be an open pump that someone can’t see. But that doesn’t mean you get to skip all those other people. It was really awesome to see that you had your kids with you. Way to teach them that rules aren’t for your family. This way, as they turn into teenagers, they know that they can just discard the rules that they don’t like. And you can’t get mad at them, because I mean, you did sort of teach them this behavior. Okay, you’re right, not sort of. You definitely just showed them that cheating and cutting gets them ahead.

 

Dear Mom at the Rugby Field,

Another case of a Mom asking her oldest kid to watch her youngest. Only here, your oldest was 6 and your youngest 2. Do you really think a six year old should be told to do something that you don’t want to do. I mean, I know how important it is for you to aspire to your amateur photographer status while your husband aspires to his club rugby status. But setting yourself 50 yards away from your kids is not cool. Also? Letting them walk dogs that are bigger than they are and then yelling at them because the dog got away or peed on someone, is so not cool. Not sure about going back to the games because I don’t want to feel responsible when that dog pulls your two year old out onto the field in the middle of a scrum.

 

Dear Parents at the Movie Theatre,

What is with not getting a babysitter? I mean, I have no problem with a kid going to see a kids movie. I expect you to ignore your kid kicking the back of my chair or pulling on my hair with their sticky fingers if I dare to go see Tangled or Kung Fu Panda 2. But bringing your kid to the midnight showing of Paranormal Activity or the any showing of Your, Highness? Some of these movies are R rated for a reason. There were lots and lots of naked schlong scenes in the latter. Is that really what you want your 8, 10, or even 13 year old seeing? I mean, again, it’s bad enough when you go to a late showing of a movie and parents bring in the stroller, toys, and accoutrements for their infant or toddler; but, bringing a child old enough to pay attention to some of these movies? That’s just wrong. There are some things they don’t need to see at that age. Not to mention, I don’t want to hear them whining about being bored or scared. But I will laugh when you have to get up and leave with them. I’ll even cackle when you get visibly offended at the film’s content. Or, you could take the easy route and leave them with a babysitter.

Dear Parents at the Restaurant,

I get it, you want to come in and have a nice meal with your family. That’s something we all want. Something we don’t want? Your brat coming over to our table, or running around in the middle of the tables, or otherwise disrupting our meal. I mean, I get that you asking dear little Timmy to sit in his chair is beyond your capabilities, but I really don’t want to watch the wait-staff dodge him as he gets in the way. It’s not that hard to sit him back in his chair. And, you know, if you actually enforced rules with him, he’d probably know better than to go up to someone else’s table to try and get their food. No, it isn’t cute. It wasn’t cute when they were three and it certainly isn’t cute when they’re six.

To all parents in general: Please remember that no one thinks your kid is as special as you do. I’ll happily coo over pictures, laugh at cute stories, and even teach your kids to play piano. Just, have them behave in public, be the parent yourself, and don’t expect me to think it’s cute when your kid interrupts my dinner out with my husband.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Letters To Parents

  1. Stereo says:

    EVERY SINGLE WORD OF THIS. In fact, I’m tweeting this right now.

  2. Becks says:

    As a parent, a doting one at that, I agree with all your statements. I may not catch Charlie before he does something rude every single time but you can guarantee that he will know he’s done wrong and he’ll know fairly publicly! I don’t shout but he knows when he’s in trouble.

    I do cringe at the word brat though. Labelling the child, who is just doing what comes naturally, because the parents can’t be bothered to train them, is unfair.

    I’m a lot more tolerant since I had my child, I’ve had nearly 5 years of those judging me for his behaviour, at times I’ve been wrong, at times they have been down right stupid and rude. I have snapped at people who don’t know what it is to wrangle a child who doesn’t want to get up off the floor, you try picking up 38 lbs of screaming dead weight with bad hips! Thankfully Charlie knows the consequences of that kind of behaviour are dire and long so rarely does it, and when he does I always question where my decisions led to that meltdown. I’m sure people have labelled him “brat” when really he’s exhausted but I hadn’t planned properly for dinner and needed to pick up a few things at the supermarket, or when a few days after that tantrum he has come down with the flu.

    • Becks,

      Thanks so much for your response. It’s parents like you that I admire, the one’s who are trying very hard to teach their children the proper way to interact with others. I do want to say that I deliberately didn’t include a tantrum-throwing child in the supermarket, because this wasn’t about them. We’ve all seen it and I’ve never felt anything but sympathy for the parent on that one. Because there isn’t a lot you can do. This was all about the places where the parent was refusing to act at all and the result was in annoying behavior.

      As to my use of the word brat, you’re right it is cringe worthy. And that’s why I chose it. The two places I used it both involved restaurant instances. In the first, the boy definitely deserved the label. There is the normal tantrum throwing that comes with children who are tired and sick. And there is a 5 year old running around a waiting area, jumping on things and in to people, and hitting everyone that comes close to him. Maybe this behavior was considered cute when he was 15 months old, but certainly by 5 he should have been taught that he can’t hit people. So yes, that does make him a brat in my opinion, is it entirely his fault? No, his parents should be teaching him; but again his behavior was far beyond normal child antics.

      In the second case the boy was again between 5 and 6. And he was running around, deliberately trying to get in front of the wait staff and trip them. Not to mention he was approaching the tables of others and trying to eat their food. I guess, to me, this again goes beyond just being a child with a bad parent to being a child who’s bad parenting has caused them to become a problem child. It’s sad, but it is the way it goes.

  3. Kim says:

    Oh, my God, sing it sister. So grateful to Stereo for sending me here.

    One thing I learned from reading blogs of other childfree people is that I now prefer to go to restaurants that price themselves out of the family-meal crowd. But that’s my only escape; I live in a family-centered suburb that is all about making children the center of everything. So pretty much every time I step out of the house, I’m accosted with at least one horrifying child.

    I have so much respect for the parents who live the role. I know that even when I was a kid I misbehaved in public, but I was sharply and immediately corrected (and not in a child-abuse way). A public cry can’t always be controlled, but running around and other things like that CAN be. When parents just ignore the kid and allow the bad behavior go on, that’s a choice. And that I judge them for.

    • Kim,

      Welcome, and thanks for stopping by!

      I wish I had the choice to eat away from families, but in a military community, it’s really hard. I agree with you that I respect parent’s who work hard to teach their kid’s the right way to behave. My rant was sparked by one to many instance of a parent not doing that. I do get tired of the child-free people having to make accommodations for parents who don’t want to parent.

      I do think I’m going to try avoiding restaurants at normal family hours and try to find a few places that aren’t as child friendly. Thanks for the tip!

  4. Pingback: » Blog Archive » An Open Letter to DINKYS

  5. That made me laugh although it’s actually not funny. I struggle with people going to the mall for past time anyway, I only go if I need to buy something and then I do prefer to do this without the small person in my life. Having said that, my small person – like Rebecca’s – rarely throws a tantrum or misbehaves in public and knows there are consequences if she does. I think she actually likes shopping so on the odd occassion we go, she is as good as gold.

    And yes kids are loud, kids like running around, kids will not always sit still during a long meal and all that. Personally, I think people who go to a family restaurant for a meal and then complain about the noise level are idiots. If there is a play corner, colouring in stuff or similar play things for children chances are kids will be there. Likewise, I think parents who take their kids to restaurants that have none of those things are just as much fools.

    Overall though I think the UK is a really kid-unfriendly place, especially after being back home to Germany recently, where there are so much more facilities for children that you really are never tempted to encroach on those who don’t want to see or hear children.

  6. Shiny says:

    Awesome. There’s so much I could say on parenting that it would need to be a blog post itself, so I’m going to be breif. Teaching your child how to behave and obey is essential for their well being physically, emotionally, mentally, socially, and spiritually. If you as a parent don’t teach them now but rely on teachers, church, boot camp to teach them, then eventually, principles, cops, judges, and jail will be their teacher. And we all know how much love and care are in those systems, so love your child and teach them now. If you wait too long, it’ll be too late.
    <3,
    M

  7. Pingback: » Blog Archive » An Open Letter to DINKYS

Leave a Reply

