Fire Up For Fall

Yeah, I know, I’m late. I have a really good excuse though. I was on my honeymoon! Finally, a year after we eloped and moved to Germany (thanks USAF for that little curve ball) we got to go on our honeymoon. It got cancelled in June when B had to go to Guatemala and we thought we might have to cancel it again this time for him to go to New York/Mexico (regular Mexico, not the New one…) but, it all came together. There’ll be a lot more about that later this week, both here and on my family blog. For now though, I’m going to cram two FUFF weeks into one post. If you hang on that long, I’ll be impressed.

Week One

  1. What are your goals for the Fall Challenge? (List your 5 or more goals)

a. Do at least one random act of kindness a week.

b. Lose 8 lbs – that’s just one lb a week for the remainder of the challenge.

c. Practice piano at least 3 times a week.

d. Read 15 books

e. Plan at least one date event with B each week.

2. Why have you chosen those goals?

Honestly? I’m being selfish and focusing on myself this time around. Not that I didn’t last time around, but all of these were chosen to help make me happier. It’s definitely fall here in Germany and with that comes the short days and gloomy rains, so, I’m going to need all the extra boost I can give myself.

  3. What have you done this week that’s made you feel fabulous? {this will be
  asked weekly so make sure you do something!!}

This answer is the same for both weeks: I went on my honeymoon!!!
  4. What do you think will be your biggest challenge in reaching your goals?

Honestly, probably the weight loss, I know I did well with it last challenge, but the cruise put me a bit off track, so it’s time to dig in and move downward.
  5. Fun Question! Where in  the World do you live? What’s amazing about it?

I live in the Rheinland-Pfalz in Germany. What isn’t amazing about it? I’m four hours from amazing places like Paris, Amsterdam, Bruges, and Switzerland, I’m a cheap flight away from all of Europe. And I’m here with the love of my life having the time of my life.

Positive Picutre: The Castle ten minutes from my house

 Week Two

Whew, we made it through week one, so lets power on to my answers to week two.

1. What have you done this week to help you achieve your goals?

I read 5 books: I finished Feast of Crows, The Help, The Hunger Games (just book one), Seer of Sevenwaters, and a Mercedes Lackey novel that is escaping my memory at the moment. And I doled out a few random acts of kindness aboard the ship.
  2. What have you done to make yourself feel fabulous?

I was on a cruise, on my honeymoon. Enough said.
  3. What is your talent? What are you good at? {Genuinely, EVERYONE has something big or small}

I’m a musician and piano teacher and I’m amazingly good at what I do. I firmly believe that music should be fun and strive to achieve that with each and every one of my students.
  4. What’s been the highlight of your week, toot your horn, what are you proud of !

You’re probably thinking I’m going to say the cruise again. And you’re wrong. I’m proud that I actually slept for about 3-4 hours on our flight last night. I’m notorious for not sleeping. Also, instead of napping a bit ago, I started laundry. This is a big thing for me as I normally leave that chore to B. Not to mention, I’m as jetlagged as all get out right now.
  5. Fun Question: What’s your guilty pleasure TV?

Ummm, I don’t have cable or even 5 channels that I pick up. And they’d all be in German if I could get them. I watch Project Runway and Top Chef though. Love those shows.

flowers that B bought me "just because" a couple of months ago

Anyway, I’ll start making my rounds of all of the blogs soon. Thanks for reading.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Fire Up for Fall. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fire Up For Fall

  1. Becks says:

    So glad to have you back but it sounds like you had such a good time!

  2. Mary says:

    Welcome Texancountess! You have great well-rounded goals. You’ll have fun while working towards them too!

  3. MJ says:

    Yay! Glad you’re doing the challenge too! Your first goal is random acts of kindness…not exactly selfish lady. They’re all great goals! Glad you had fun on the belated honeymoon!

    • I know! Finally a challenge that we are in on together! ;)

      And, my reasons for the random acts of kindness are selfish. I’m tired of the universe sending me rude people to be friends with so I’m trying to change my karmic activity. ;) I jest…

  4. Mary says:

    Woo hoo! Your goals are always so great. I wish I read that much!

    • Thanks! I try to only make goals that I think I’ll stick with. After the Spring Fling challenge and my struggles, I always want to shake it up.

      I know it seems like a lot, but, if I actually read consistently every day, I could read way more. I am a speed reader. I have managed to read at a pace of 100-150 words an hour before. Every now and then I read even faster. I read the last Harry Potter book in 2.5 hours.

  5. Shiny says:

    Seer of Sevenwaters?! I didn’t know that a 5th book had come out, I’ll need to Kindle it and read it as well! :-) Love the random acts of kindness and I’m so glad you and B finally got your honeymoon!!!!
    Miss You,
    M

Leave a Reply

