Beat the Heat: Wrap it up

It’s always a bit of a shock and surprise when these challenges come to an end. And I always end up more shocked then surprised when I actually stick with them through to the end. I’m a great starter but rarely am I a strong finisher. Yet here we are 10 weeks later. It’s been a crazy time here in Germany for us over the last 10 weeks. So many changes, with so many more to come over the next few months. Some are good and exciting and some I’m dreading and refusing to talk or think about.

But, here we go, I’ll wrap this up.

Goal One: Lose 10 pounds

Success!

I ended up losing 11 lbs through the course of this challenge! I’m pretty stoked. Back when this challenge started, I had no idea what I even weighed and when I found out it wasn’t pretty. I’m thrilled to be on such a great track and definitely want to keep this up. The new me is much happier with eating healthier portions and I never want that to change.

Goal Two: Try 5 new recipes

Success!

I tried 7 or 8 new recipes out of a goal of 5 for this challenge. And I have several more new ones lined up to try. I’m really pleased with how I used this goal to try cooking healthier food and also just add variety to our menus. It’s helped a lot with us actually eating at home and our grocery bill has also gone down because we’re buying fresh food instead of prepared and processed food.

Goal Three: Compile a list of 70 things I like about myself

Failure or success? You tell me.

In terms of actually writing a list of 70 things I like about myself…I failed. I stopped somewhere between 20 and 30. But, if a picture is worth a thousand words? Then I’ve collected way more than 70 things I like about myself. The point of this one was to work on building my self-esteem and my self-value. I feel like I’m in a good place with this, even if I didn’t finish my list.

Goal Four: Read 20 Books

Failed. So close though.

I read 18 of 20 books. I’m so close to being finished with number 19, but, I decided to tackle George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series during the last few weeks of this challenge and that slowed me down majorly. Still, I’m actually really pleased with how well I did with this. I got back into the habit of picking up a book when I needed something to do as opposed to just killing time on the internet. So, even though I’m 1.25 books short, I’m counting this a success in terms of meeting the heart of the goal.

Goal Five: Play an instrument 3x a week

Success!

I’m not entirely sure that it’s been 3x a week ever week – definitely wasn’t while I was in Croatia; but again, the focus of this challenge was to use my free time more constructively and to refind my love of playing music. As far as that goes, this was a major success. I love having my piano. I can’t believe that I lived without access to a piano for so long. It’s been fun to get back into the habit of practicing.

I’m really sad to see this challenge go. I’ve had so much fun working on my goals and really want to keep up with all of them.

How did you do?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Beat the Heat Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beat the Heat: Wrap it up

  1. Mary says:

    Great job with this challenge – I totally made your spinach salad, it was unbelievable delicious. I made a burger using ground beef instead of ground turkey for the first time in over a year and it was quite good – I don’t usually enjoy beef, but I was craving it and this was a perfect application for it.

  2. Shiny says:

    So great, K! You are an inspiration!!!!
    Love you,
    M

Leave a Reply

